Two Men, Two Pits and a Blog

A Tale of Two Pits

What man wouldn’t want a bullet smoker for Christmas

Once upon a time, OK a couple years ago, I got a knock on my door. I swung it open to see the UPS guy shuffling down the driveway to his brown truck. I looked down upon my doorstep and there was the big box from the Weber company I was expecting. It was some where in the days leading up to Christmas, and I thought it fit for myself to get me a little gift if you will. Something to sooth the meat eater in me, and while away a good matter of my Christmas vacation. A Water Smoker. Shaped like R2D2, and probably just as smart, this little gem started out it’s life with us in style, on the living room carpet, with holiday music playing softly, and the multi-colored light’s of the Christmas tree reflecting upon it’s glossy, black-enameled finish.  It’s good to surround newborns in such love, and let them know that they matter.

I settled on the Weber Smokey Mountain Cooker after much study, and much review. It is a solid smoker, that will hold the ideal temperature for hours on end with out babysitting. It cooks in a vertical format if you please, and has two racks, and a 2 gallon water bowl. This dude will not only smoke your Christmas ham, but your big old turkey as well, not to mention 4 racks of ribs – all at once.  It was a beautiful sight, and I might have shed a tear, as I pieced it together out of the box, giddy as a school boy on Christmas morning. I set it up, and leaned back and admired it. We bonded, the grill and I, right there in the living room. Like a baby duck to her mama, it imprinted on me. It was the genesis of a beautiful relationship. And then my phone rang.

It was my fellow Patron of the Pit, John, and he had good news for me. It seemed on this very eve, the stars and what ever else were aligned, and he too received a new grill this day. My eyebrow raised, sensing the gravity of the moment, and a fellowship of the flame was ignited. He was giddy too, bouncing around the house in his pajamas, assembling his new cooker. The 1038 Square inch Char-Griller 2137 Outlaw with option offset smoker box. He was in love. And I was happy for him. It’s like we both got dates to the prom on the same day. Our world was complete.

Over one thousand square inches of premium smoking satisfaction

Being the meat geeks that we are, John also scoured the market reviews before any wallet was pried. He settled on the Char-Griller Outlaw, which was highly favored by many, and maybe the best bang for the buck available at the time. With cast iron grates, adjustable fire grate, and a chimney that make grown men smile, he has procured many a meal for this grill. It’s your truly poetic sort of pit. If ever something was going to look cool covered in suet, grease, and BBQ sludge, this is it. Your quintessential blackened barrel, tipped over, cut in half, and more than capable of anything BBQ.

And so it was, two pits, and two men, conspired together at the roll of the BBQ dice. As if it were meant to be. Brethren of the Flame. And the Patrons of the Pit.

3 responses

  1. We have one of each, and I have to say that the bullet is our favorite and the one that gets used the most. The offset-box smoker serves mostly as a drink holder while we are using the Weber. 🙂

    December 26, 2012 at 3:53 pm

    • Yeah, the offsets take a bit more skill, and considerable tinkering it seems, to get them operating right, leastwise the cheaper ones, but once you learn how to run them, some commendable BBQ can be had. But it takes practice. Perhaps better suited for those of us who enjoy babysitting the smoker, and puttering with the fire. The Weber bullets are almost foolproof tho. Well designed, and no babysitting required. For any one wanting to get started in smoking, I would recommend them highly indeed.

      December 27, 2012 at 1:59 am

      • I think we are especially biased because we started on a bullet, and switching back and forth between the two takes a considerable amount of thought as the fire you build in one canoot be built identically in the other with good results. Still, the big one is useful to have if we are having a party and need to smoke a whole mess of ribs.

        December 27, 2012 at 2:07 pm

Leave a Reply

