Two Men, Two Pits and a Blog

Politics and Charcoal

afterfocus_1354050574485There are many ways to light your fire, to kindle your coals. You can douse them in lighter fluid, or use an electric starter, or favor them with the business end of a blow torch; or I suppose, all of the above at once, provided you have sufficient medical coverage. Our favorite tho, by and by, has to be the humble charcoal chimney. Clever little things, obviously spawned from the brain pan of an efficient thinker. All it takes is three pages of your local newspaper crumpled into as many balls, some charcoal, and a single match.

To the uninitiated,  it would be presumed it doesn’t matter what sort of paper to burn. Well, it doesn’t really, but let it be said, the joy is rather abiding, if not dubious, watching the political section go up in flames. It feels good, and I ever so do recommend it. As does the junk mail you never asked for anyways. Oh yes, you can use any matter of scrap or paper you’d like to light your charcoal chimney, but it is not nearly as much fun, nor therapeutic,  as those unruly prints you so despise. Burn accordingly.

Thus, pack the bottom of the chimney with your chosen burnables, and dump in your coals. Then what pleasure it is to lay a flame to wpid-afterfocus_1353993472536.jpgpaper, and watch the heavy gray smoke curl into the sky. Such moments are never with out giddiness, for that thick smoke rising, it signals to yourself, and who ever is looking, that yet another outdoor cook is officially in session. Like hoisting a self-dissipating flag of BBQ, aptly woven in soft tendrils of smoke; and the neighbors all take note. And so do you. Another masterpiece in grilling excellence, or, barring that, another fall of man’s glorious ideal, tween the grates, and into the flame. Reduced to charred rubble and inedible tatter.  Regardless, when your chimney is a’blaze, it is your time now, to relish. Like the engines revving at Indy,  or the national anthem praised through a stadium; the games are about to begin, and our spirits climb, every time we go out to the pit and light the coals there.

3 responses

  1. SmokieButGoodie

    Ugh.

    You know as a devoted American, on a daily basis I try my best to keep up with politics and stay current with the latest issues concerning our great land of the brave and the free.

    But I have to admit, sometimes it all gets a bit overwhelming… just like when too much fat drips onto the coals and bursts my Weber into intense flame and heavy smoke!

    Tonight after a hard days work, I flipped on the TV to zone out while savoring some supper. But sure enough I quickly realized my mistake. I’m not sure what got into me, or if I just needed one day of peace and examples of goodwill towards others, but today the stress and frustration of watching the current state of affairs in the news and in politics overwhelmed my appetite, and hence forth my supper instantly became tomorrow’s leftovers for dinner.

    Ugh.

    So what did I do instead? I sauntered over to these pages and read my fill for some joy filled respite. And these lines quoted below from your brilliant post cracked a smile on what was my formerly grimacing face. Thank you, PoTP.

    “To the uninitiated, it would be presumed it doesn’t matter what sort of paper to burn. Well, it doesn’t really, but let it be said, the joy is rather abiding, if not dubious, watching the political section go up in flames. It feels good, and I ever so do recommend it…”

    “Like the engines revving at Indy, or the national anthem praised through a stadium; the games are about to begin, and our spirits climb, every time we go out to the pit and light the coals there.”

    July 7, 2016 at 10:23 pm

    • Ah yes, I know from what you feel. Seems like every time we turn on the TV or the radio, it’s the same old political crap. It wearies a mans soul, it does. Yeah, I’ve been a fan of burning the political section in my charcoal chimney for many years now. I think it has help some.

      Its so cool that you’re rummaging back through the Potp archives, and enjoying your time there. A lot of the most inspired stuff in blogs, are those first few months, they say. Back when you are new to the game, and full of youthful exuberance.

      We also appreciate your thoughtful, well-thought out comments. To a blogger, this makes our day. Thank you kindly!

      Now go burn something…

      July 8, 2016 at 9:16 am

      • SmokieButGoodie

        Haha yes, burn something I shall go! Thanks for the good words, and I’m definitely enjoying rummaging around these parts. As I meander around I’ll be looking forward to encountering your most inspired early works you speak of, if not already.

        July 9, 2016 at 12:11 am

Leave a Reply

