Two Men, Two Pits and a Blog

Testament of a Grilling Geek

I went out to the grill the other night, in routine fashion to tend the meat, and found myself for a time just standing there, staring into the hot, glowing coals. It was a crisp night, and the heat from the fire felt good on my hands. And the sky was dark, and scattered with stars, shimmering vanward to a blackened infinity. I turned up the collar on my smoking jacket, and noted momentarily how pleasant it was – this fire, this night. The simple pleasures of loitering pit-side, while lovingly doting over a piece of meat. I just love it. But why. Why would a grown man of apt intelligence forsake a perfectly good stove top, and a heated house, to go instead outside, into the cold, and cook his supper in the humbling style of hobos and passing vagrants.  I pushed the meat over indirect heat,  paused, and thought about it for a while.

20130105_173338_edit0_edit0

The reasons reside I suspect, with the soft-rising tendrils of smoke, and the waving mirages of heat against a pale, crescent moon. With the dancing flames, and the aromas of smoldering wood. It might also be because of all the many campsites  beneath whispering pines I am thus reminded of, every time I strike a match, and kindle a fire. Because meat cooked over an open fire is at once a pleasure, and akin to something deeper in our souls than electric skillets or microwave ovens. Because of the freshened air which expands my chest, and the Black Capped Chickadees which flirt yonder, in the stately trees.  Because BBQ is a fickle pursuit, and you are not always so sure how it will turn out. And because good BBQ takes time,  lots of time, and loitering over a beautiful bed of coals, with my tongs in hand, is at once a stand of small defiance, in a falling world wrought with haste. And that is no small thing.

Because one day I might smoke the perfect rack of ribs.

Indeed, the reasons are many I suppose, of why we do what we do. And I suppose too there are plenty of other ways to cook a cut of meat, that will taste just as good, and surely a might more comfortable than standing out in the cold. But scarce any of them, let it be said, are nearly so much fun as this; with this fire, this night out-of-doors, under magnificent skies, and over fiery beds of glowing coal.  Ah yes. The simple pleasures patron to the pit, and to those who tarry there. This I suspect, is why I grill by and by, and why it is we do what we do.

That, and I like to eat! Amen.

6 responses

  1. I guess that is what is going through my hubby’s mind when he is outside in the cold making coals to use for grillin later.

    January 21, 2013 at 1:53 pm

    • Yup, pretty much. We understand him, and you have a support group here! Thank you kindly for the follow too!

      January 21, 2013 at 3:11 pm

  2. I couldn’t have expressed it better. And someday, I too will smoke that perfect rack of ribs. And if I ever do, I’m sure that I will convince myself I can do it better or will always try to duplicate them exactly because its not always about the destination, but about the journey.

    January 24, 2013 at 9:44 am

    • Spoken like a true grilling geek. We always like it when you show up! Take care dude!

      January 24, 2013 at 9:47 am

  3. In a world where everyone wants to talk of fake news, these words ore some of the truest ever spoken. Or written, I suppose. Either way, I am nodding in agreement. And I’m hungry, so….

    February 17, 2017 at 12:16 pm

    • Man, thanks dude. Means a good deal coming from you. Appreciate it! Now go eat something good!

      February 17, 2017 at 1:57 pm

Leave a Reply

