Two Men, Two Pits and a Blog

Chocolate?? Are you NUTS?

2012-04-01 12.53.00

Dunking your brand new white mop into a fresh batch of homemade sauce goes against everything mother had taught you. OK all rules ascend out the window when you begin to baste a half-done smoky rack of ribs. The aromatic mix of spice, vinegar, and smoke waft into the air, and you can’t help but to apply more.

I’d like to share a recipe I found online and tweaked a little for my taste. It’s a Chocolate Infused BBQ Sauce. I know what you’re thinking, “What is he thinking?” Chocolate and BBQ? Chocolate and Smoke? Don’t get me wrong, it sounds weird, but tastes very good. Here’s how it’s done!

Ingredients

  • 2 cups ketchup
  • 1/2 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1/3 cup fresh orange juice
  • 3 tablespoons molasses
  • 1 tablespoon Worcestershire sauce
  • 1 tablespoon Dijon mustard
  • 1 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1 teaspoon smoked paprika
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper – See Note Below
  • 2 ounces unsweetened chocolate, chopped – See Note Below

Preparation

  1. Combine ketchup and next 9 ingredients (through pepper) in a medium saucepan; bring to a boil, stirring with a whisk. Reduce heat; simmer 8 minutes or until thick, stirring occasionally. Remove from heat; add chocolate, stirring until chocolate melts and mixture is smooth.

I decided to make a few notes for the interested reader.

  • If you’re going to use Chocolate, go big! OK, I didn’t look too hard at the grocery store. I went with what cost more than Hershey’s or Nestle. I decided to go with Guittard’s Semi-Sweet Chocolate Chips. I felt the flavor stood out more when I have baked with them in the past.img_7972
  • Also, when a recipe calls for freshly ground pepper, then ground your pepper freshly! I have a mortar and pestle. I love going with a rainbow mix of Peppercorn.
  • For those of you who have ever tasted chili infused chocolate, go ahead and throw in some chili powder to taste. The sweet of the chocolate and brown sugar really compliment the kick of pepper and chili powder.300-111-3605
  • Lastly, I usually begin basting the meat with the sauce as soon as I throw smoke on the coals. The smoke flavor really sticks to anything that is wet on the cut of meat. So if you want that hickory flavor to stand out, start basting right away. All opinion of course!IMG_20121118_164651
21 responses

  1. silverlime

    Thank you for dropping by. Happy grilling! 😊

    January 25, 2013 at 6:15 pm

  2. reminds me a little of mole (Mexican dish that has chilis and chocolate). Very yummy!

    January 25, 2013 at 9:46 pm

  3. Gosh this makes me want chili-infused chocolate

    January 26, 2013 at 11:31 am

  4. I’ve never had much luck with ribs, followed every recipe I see, but they just seem to not come out as good as if I slow roast or crock pot them. Any tips?

    January 27, 2013 at 4:29 am

    • Well, “The Texas Cheat” or wrapping ribs in foil for a couple hours, half way through the cook is the most fool proof method I know of. I’ve seen unruly boot leather like ribs come out the foil falling to pieces. I don’t know if you’ve tried foiling them or not, but that’s one good tip.

      Also, are you removing the membrane. Leaving that thing on can spoil many a rib.

      If nothing else, you could put them on the grill for a couple hours and get some smoke over them, then finish them off in the crock pot, since the slow-cooker is a proven method for you.

      Also check out our write up on easy smoke ribs for more ideas.
      https://patronsofthepit.wordpress.com/2012/12/04/bbq-pork-ribs/

      -POTP

      January 27, 2013 at 2:48 pm

      • Thanks, I think the membrane is definitely part of my issue. And maybe some impatience as well. Will give your tips a try when I grill again!

        January 27, 2013 at 2:58 pm

  5. Love chocolate in a BBQ sauce!!!

    January 27, 2013 at 9:20 pm

  6. I have noticed I’m using it more and more… this could be bad!

    January 28, 2013 at 11:24 am

  7. Looks amazing might have to try some of these recipes. Having a barbeque in Manchester in this weather is slightly out of the question at the moment though. Its bloody freezing here in winter. HAHA

    January 28, 2013 at 4:36 pm

    • Oh do not let the weather stop you. But if it does, we understand. We’ve retreated from foul weather in the past also. Till then dream of the smell of burning coals and smoke.

      January 28, 2013 at 5:01 pm

      • Yeah your right I might just have to convert my girl friends en suite into a smoke house!

        January 29, 2013 at 3:35 am

      • There ya go! Let us know when you do and we will publish an article on it. 😉

        January 29, 2013 at 8:56 am

      • It will be nice to stink out a toilet with a different type of meaty scent for a change HAHA

        January 29, 2013 at 10:00 am

  8. My wife has banned me from certian toilets in the house. We have a treaty…

    January 29, 2013 at 2:41 pm

  9. I am all over this.

    January 29, 2013 at 8:35 pm

    • Most people were afraid to taste it at first. Once they did… It was all over. Enjoy!

      January 29, 2013 at 9:12 pm

  10. Oh how delicious!
    Have you ever tried chocolate-covered bacon? That’s pretty epic too.

    And I have to say, this blog is genius!! It reminds me a bit of artofmanliness.com., which is one of my favorites. I will be visiting more!

    Thanks for checking out my posts.

    MJ
    welleatyouup.wordpress.com

    January 30, 2013 at 6:17 pm

    • Heard of chocolate covered bacon, but never tried it. I suppose the two worlds of goodness could co-exist!

      February 15, 2013 at 5:25 pm

Leave a Reply

