Two Men, Two Pits and a Blog

Pit Side Mornings

I’m a morning person. I like getting up before most people and listen to the weather outside. I enjoy sitting here quietly and contemplating life. The folk music on in the background and the tea kettle announces its finished with its end of the job. I hold my bowl of raisin cookie oatmeal close to my chest taking in and enjoy every bite. Sipping my hazelnut coffee I feel blessed, content with what my maker has shown me. It’s days like this when you know it’s going to be a very good day.

20130210-093524.jpg

We want each of you to show this same diligence to the very end, so that what you hope for may be fully realized. We do not want you to become lazy, but to imitate those who through faith and patience inherit what has been promised. (Hebrews 6:11, 12 NIV)

18 responses

  1. Lovely. That’s a perfect morning reflection, thank you.

    February 10, 2013 at 10:01 am

  2. Is it the same for you when the train goes rambling by? πŸ™‚ Hey I am the same.. I enjoy my garden in the morning with a good cup of Dbl. French Roast and Cinnamon ( my co-host to the morning).

    Hey thanks Patrons of the Pit for the visit to my blog, Savor the Food. I hope you are able to enjoy any one of those rice recipes. They should be a delight to your pallet.

    Chef Randall
    savorthefood.wordpress.com

    February 11, 2013 at 10:06 am

    • It is, I love watching the cars as the slowly roll by. I like seeing the art painted on the sides of the trains. It’s cool seeing one of mans greatest inventions daily in my back yard.

      I’m a huge fan of rice and so I think I’ll probably use one of them when I do some honey glazed pork chops!

      Grill on! – POTP

      February 11, 2013 at 10:30 am

      • I just heard a report about graffiti on trains as well as in the NY subways on NPR yesterday. Have a good day!! πŸ™‚

        February 11, 2013 at 10:35 am

  3. getting up early, drinking coffee, sitting outside is as good as being happy in the happiest place on earth, happy

    February 11, 2013 at 2:59 pm

    • Dang… That just made me…happy!

      February 11, 2013 at 5:05 pm

      • Being happy makes life happier.

        February 11, 2013 at 5:25 pm

  4. Angie K Walker

    Raisin cookie oatmeal?!!!! That’s lovely!

    February 11, 2013 at 4:10 pm

  5. Sounds peaceful and comfortable.

    February 11, 2013 at 6:42 pm

  6. That’s exactly how I like to spend my mornings. Breakfast is slightly different. But the tunes are the same!

    February 12, 2013 at 12:37 pm

    • Very nice. Doesn’t get better than that.

      February 12, 2013 at 12:40 pm

      • Really like your blog. You guys seem to talk my language. Thanks for that!

        February 12, 2013 at 12:43 pm

  7. SmokieButGoodie

    Nice. I love hearing little glimpses of how others live and enjoy their lives like this. This one was heartwarming and left me smiling, as your posts often do. I wish I was an early morning person on my days off, but I work an early shift so I’m up at 4am to get to work by 6am, which means come the weekend all I want to do is sleep in some. But it sure is nice to hear of other good folk enjoying and savoring their mornings like you do. Life is too precious to waste otherwise. Thanks for sharing that morning snippet.

    July 28, 2016 at 9:24 pm

    • Thank you kindly good sir. This post is one of the few in the archives that was written by the other half of PotP. The caretaker of the Track Side Pit. He’s always been more of a morning person than I, but I must say, in recent years I’ve learned the joys of the early morning life myself. A most tranquil period of day to be sure.

      July 28, 2016 at 9:47 pm

  8. SmokieButGoodie

    Ah, thanks for letting me know. I guess I should have noticed the different style of writing. I’ve been meaning to ask, why is his Pit referred to as “Track Side”?

    July 30, 2016 at 1:20 am

    • Well, under the simplest of circumstance, it is because he lives next to a train track. Oft times he enjoys a good locomotive rumbling past whilst he flips a burger at the pit. Thus track side it is.

      July 31, 2016 at 7:42 am

      • SmokieButGoodie

        Ah thanks. You satisfied my curiosity. But wouldn’t you know it, right after your reply, I stumbled upon your co-PoTP founder’s old posts about him living trackside. Ain’t that how it goes…

        August 3, 2016 at 8:28 pm

Leave a Reply

