Two Men, Two Pits and a Blog

It’s the Simple Things In Life…

Sometimes life should stay simple. Though us Patrons enjoy working hard at making culinary masterpieces over a flame, we don’t always have the time to do so. Surprised you might be to the fact that we also work full-time jobs. Though we may post many things on here throughout the week, it’s not because we stay at home grilling and smoking meats all day, tho there are days where we wish we could do so. Days when the flirtatious considerations of leaving the trustworthy 9 to 5 and becoming a full-time food artist dance across the brainwaves of our minds. We sit back in our desk chair, stomachs groaning, while the pondering issues related to our work trade gather in the background. We exhale a sigh, because all we want to do is fill a coal chimney, stuff it with newspaper and light it with a flame. Then of course, reality strikes, and we can’t. We eat a granola bar to cater to grumbles of the stomach and press on until the whistle blows. During the winter when the sunlight is less than your blessed summer nights; we like most of you out there need to keep meals simple. A brat, corn and baked beans are one of the most intelligible meals you can get. So simple that the only spice I used was cracked pepper over the beans. It may be simple, but it hits the spot…always. In closing, cheers to those who work real jobs, a full eight-hour shift that allows little glimpse of sunlight. To those who need to think of something fast, remember there is always hot dogs, brats, corn and peppered baked beans. Grill On – POTP

IMG_20130212_095411

It is the sweet, simple things of life which are the real ones after all.  – Laura Ingalls Wilder 

 

14 responses

  1. Ahhhhh… we had brats too last night! lol I was lazy and didn’t want to have to THINK. But they sure were good!

    February 12, 2013 at 11:14 am

  2. I think that same thought wave was traveling through many homes. Glad you enjoyed. I sure did!

    February 12, 2013 at 11:32 am

  3. Noooooooo, come on, it’s nearly midnight here, and lead us not into temptation 😀

    February 12, 2013 at 5:06 pm

  4. Hey i don’t know what brats are!

    February 13, 2013 at 12:55 am

    • It’s like a pork sausage. You can get them in many different flavors!

      February 13, 2013 at 9:06 am

  5. Angie K Walker

    i had sosiges for tea too, with baked beanz n fried egg n chips.

    p.s. I met someone once who broke her heart crying once watching Little House on the Prairie. Her mother was so concerned: “oh you poor darling, whatever is the matter….”

    Daughter gulped through her tears hysterically told ma it was this week’s episode that was turning on the tap. “Well you….” Thanks for jogging my memory. It wasn’t me by the way but I did use to like watching it. Charles was fit.

    February 13, 2013 at 2:19 pm

    • Wow thanks. Anytime I can stir up a bit of nostalgia in someone’s heart it’s a good thing. That was a great show. I had three sisters and that show was on often. Now I wanna watch it!!

      February 13, 2013 at 10:07 pm

  6. grizyeti

    Made me want brats, maybe this weekend, cannot wait!

    February 13, 2013 at 7:11 pm

  7. SmokieButGoodie

    Ah yes…it’s definitely the simple things. Thank you for serving as the ideal substitute for the missing link in my brain that prevents me from expressing these very same thoughts in the form of such eloquent prose as yours. It’s quite a sense of pleasing relief and validation to see similar thoughts expressed so successfully and beautifully in your poetry.

    Yes, it’s definitely the simple things you think back upon, in fond remembrance of good times and happy days.

    For me you reminded me of childhood summer vacation days, when my folks whisked us little runts away from NYC (where I grew up) to the mountains in Pennsylvania countryside, to live a simple peaceful life, at least for a while. And while there, my Dad, who never cooked much, would often boil us some hotdogs with sauerkraut and mustard, served with a tall cool glass of milk, and we’d eat outside on the balcony among the trees, and I thought it was the best thing ever, a meal fit for kings!

    And I still do, ‘though now I’d definitely charcoal grill those hotdogs instead of boiling them of course!

    July 26, 2016 at 9:55 pm

    • Sounds like some pleasant memories forged with family among the trees. Thanks for sharing that! Isn’t something how something as lowly as a boiled hot dog, given the proper setting, can be so good as to echo through the ages of our memory. I love stories like that! The high trick, of course, is to notice when these “good old days” are currently happening, when you’re actually making the memory itself. That’s when it’s a pleasure to pounce on them with all the joy you can muster, and savor the event. The little things indeed.

      July 27, 2016 at 7:16 am

      • SmokieButGoodie

        Yeah you’re so right about things like even the lowly hotdog serving as an acute yet still tasty reminder of joys enjoyed in the past. Though I do admit instead of those tall cool glasses of milk from my childhood memories, I may be guilty of substituting the occasional tall cool glass or ten of beer to go with those chargrilled hotdogs these days… And maybe a token sprig of broccoli choked down to satisfy the lovely lady in my life.

        Yes, what you said about the high trick – wouldn’t you know it, whenever I think I’m in one of those ” moments” about to go down in the annals of what will be recalled as “the good old days”, it inevitably doesn’t…but something else totally unexpected does. Well, isn’t that how it goes…

        But I hope you have much success in that regard! You of all people would enjoy it to its fullest! And then blog about it in a PoTP much to the glee of your patron readers! …Wait a minute… …come to think about it, you’re way ahead of me…that’s exactly what you’ve been doing all these years with your PoTP posts! Whoa…I think I just had a PoTP epiphany…

        July 27, 2016 at 8:58 pm

Leave a Reply

