Two Men, Two Pits and a Blog

How To Avoid Sports Bars: BBQ Winglets and Shrimp

Twilight in February. I strike a match, and put flame to the political section, which resided nicely crumpled in the bottom of the charcoal chimney. The initial rush of smoke was strong, as it curled up into the fading light. A satisfied contentment was in the air as I tarried there at the pit, hands in my smoking jacket, admiring how the moon hung in the eastern sky, and how its soft ,blue hue washed over my many snow piles, shoveled high, and seasoned in ashes blown. A pleasant evening to grill, by and far. But then when isn’t it, really.  Lets head inside then, and see what’s for supper.

moon

Deep in the recesses of the freezer, where men seldom tread, I found a bag of winglets which all but begged for attention. I was reminded of some popular sports bars in the area, where upon I would patron on occasion, who would specialize in these sort of wings. And they were pretty good wings as wings go, tho nothing remarkable, but a staple still you could count on in the heady thralls of meat lust. But I grow weary of those places, with their crowds of people and their sticky tables. And their overly loud ambiance,  of which you can nary hear anybody you’re talking to anyways. I guess I’m getting older. I aspire higher than that. Thus, but to create their choice appetizer from the quiet and tranquil quarters of my pit, kissed gently by a moon beam, well, that was more my style tonight. As most nights are I guess.20130224_175246_edit0

After the winglets had thawed, and being the creature of efficiency that I am, I just left them in the bag for the seasoning process. I dusted them with great abandoned with some Louisiana Grill Sweet Heat, and shook the bag around like the shake and bake commercials of old.  It felt good. Almost therapeutic  A lovely technique for getting that rub everywhere it ought to go. And by golly, I shook it good.  The rub was actually a bi-product of haste, go figure, as I mistakenly clicked on it, and the inter web minions thus sent it to my door step, for better or for worse. Turned out to be pretty tasty, however, and I think I might even order some more now. At any rate, the wings are ready, so let’s go put them on the grill. Let us put meat to flame!

20130224_180424_edit0

Over direct heat to start, nice and hot, like sending your soldiers to boot camp, to sear them up, and make them a little crunchy on the skin.  After boot camp, lets tuck these winglets aside over the all-important in-direct heat, a forgiving technique all aspiring grill masters seldom can go wrong with. Smoke wood optional, but if you have it, why not. I always seem to have scraps of hickory laying about, so that’s what I used. Also, in my freezer foray I happened upon some shrimp, or least-wise I think it was shrimp. Yeah, it was shrimp alright, of which I added to the cook at the last-minute, to broaden if you will, the meat diversity on my plate. Giving equal ingesting opportunity to the things of the sea, as well as what flirts in the farm yard.

20130224_180743_edit1

Next step was to put the lid on and leave the thing alone for a while, to infuse some of that smokey flavor into the meat, that we all know and love. A wonderful process involving the procuring of yourself a lovely beverage from the ice box, and taking up residence in the nearest easy chair, whilst overseeing the grill puff away in fading light. Milky moonbeams on hickory smoke, ah, these are the simple pleasures patron to the cook. Why it is we do what we do, forsaking the stove top for the hobo lifestyle, under the shimmering stars, and over the open flame. Ambiance no crowded sports bar will ever match.20130224_184112_edit0

During the last 10 minutes or so, I basted the winglets in some Sweet Baby Rays, and hit them a little more with some direct heat, to caramelize the sugars a tad. Man! Then proceeded to plate up, and dine in the acute absence of the sports bar scene, whilst basking in the relative tranquility patron to the pit. Amen.

34 responses

  1. strivingfortiny

    Ok, now you did it. I’m off my diet lolol

    February 26, 2013 at 10:58 pm

    • Haha, sorry! But I gain a pound every time I write this stuff. Oh well.

      February 27, 2013 at 9:44 am

  2. Amen brother!

    February 27, 2013 at 2:39 am

  3. Superb! Final product is commercial grade. Nice job.

    February 27, 2013 at 3:21 am

  4. Reblogged this on More is More and commented:
    It’s February in Columbus, Ohio. Late February. And I am simply all wintered-out. If you’re like me, you’re starting to itch for outdoor bar-b-que again. Not commercial bar-b-que. The hands-on, sippin’-a-beverage-in-your-backyard in the warm air-kinda bar-b-que.

    February 27, 2013 at 4:42 am

  5. Reblogged this on My Meals are on Wheels.

    February 27, 2013 at 8:45 am

  6. grizyeti

    Total bliss for the mouth!
    I cannot stop the mouth watering now, this sounds so delicious.

    I followed you through the brats, but alas have yet to do the bread. This meal here though, very easy to replicate.
    Did I mention delicious?

    February 27, 2013 at 8:45 am

    • It was delicious, and oh so easy, even amid the last sieges of winter’s, icy grip on the back yard.

      February 27, 2013 at 9:49 am

  7. WAHOO! Can I get an halleluiah?! Boy-oh-boy, smoky wings… WAY better than any bar-fare, and dare I say healthier, as they are not deep fried. ALOHA!

    February 27, 2013 at 8:45 am

  8. grizyeti

    Reblogged this on Grizz-Tion and commented:
    Mouth-Watering goodness, and beautiful flowing prose.
    Do yourself a favor, and check out this page.

    February 27, 2013 at 8:47 am

  9. Love it!

    February 27, 2013 at 8:47 am

  10. A trip to Hooter’s Wings is okay. However; watching smoke waft from your grill by moonlight is far more relaxing. Perhaps I’ll slow-smoke some wings this weekend. Thank you for the inspiration oh, Patrons of the Pit.

    February 27, 2013 at 8:53 am

    • Be inspired TJ, for time spent at the pit is not deducted from our lifespans. That’s what we’re hoping anyways.

      February 27, 2013 at 9:54 am

  11. Reading this reminded me that I’ve been wanting to do more slow-smoking on our new grill… any tips for keeping a wood-fire’s heat steady at a low temperature?

    February 27, 2013 at 10:17 am

    • Very cool. It is a life style you will find well with your soul. Well every smoker and grill is different. You’ll have to get to know yours and it’s tendencies a little. A good base of charcoal will give you a steady dependable heat, and then you can add the smoke wood of your choice. Experiment with the dampers or vents until you get a temperature somewhere around 225 -275. That’s your ideal smoking range, and the target temp to shoot for.

      The minion method works well here too, see our recent write-up on that. https://patronsofthepit.wordpress.com/2013/02/18/the-long-burnthe-method-of-jim-minion/

      If your having troubles controlling the temp, you might have to tinker a little. Get yourself a good smoke bellowing out of the smoker, and check the unit over for leaks. Smokers like to suck air in one side, and belch it out the other. Kind of like some estranged uncles you may have. If you see any leaks where they ought not to be, try and seal them, with high temperature caulk, or even tin foil. The idea is to get a good combustion going on in the grill, and this in turn will give you more control over the temps. Kind of like if you poke one hole in a can of juice, it doesn’t pour too good. But poke two holes in it, and it pours with great efficiency and ease.

      Sorry, you got me talking about the BBQ arts, I may have rambled some! It’s not your fault.

      Take care

      February 27, 2013 at 10:44 am

      • Thanks for the advice! I don’t mind the long talk, I get the same whenever it comes to Food Trucks, Wine, Food…. did I mention food? Yeah, that stuff’s good…
        I’ll take a look for leaks next time I do some cooking. That temperature range really helps too; in learning at school we usually shoot for the minimum in heat, which is even harder to get to and keep.

        February 27, 2013 at 12:05 pm

  12. Awesome! Now I’m starving!

    February 27, 2013 at 1:06 pm

  13. You sir, are a poet.

    February 27, 2013 at 1:53 pm

  14. Hell yea!! Great post!

    February 27, 2013 at 11:50 pm

  15. Angie K Walker

    lovely moon picture.

    February 28, 2013 at 2:08 am

  16. This is yummy guys. I also like your story telling while leading up to the recipe. You ended it all with a great photo. Also love the moon shot. 🙂

    Well done. Thanks for sharing!! 🙂

    Chef Randall

    February 28, 2013 at 9:50 pm

    • Thank you chef, we appreciate it. What do you have cooking on the menu next over there?

      March 1, 2013 at 10:44 am

  17. Fay

    This is one reason why I will never diet! This just looks too good! The only problem is how do you eat such yummy stuff in moderation!! 😀

    March 1, 2013 at 12:35 am

    • Ah yes, the moderation word..I feel your struggle! Thanks for checking in on us!

      March 1, 2013 at 10:41 am

  18. Chancy the Gardener

    Oh, my goodness! My mouth is watering…that all looks delicious! I stopped by to thank you all for viewing my bird pictures and ‘liking’ them at Mag’s Corner. Now I guess I will go find me something to eat. 🙂 It sure won’t taste as good as all your food looks for sure.

    March 1, 2013 at 4:52 pm

  19. Well done guys. Well done. I seriously enjoy your work.

    March 2, 2013 at 1:11 pm

  20. Lads … you inspire me to greater heights, on the grill, through the lens and with the keyboard. Like I’ve said before … BIG fan!! Staying hungry!

    March 9, 2013 at 7:44 am

Leave a Reply

