Two Men, Two Pits and a Blog

Well I’ll be dipped… The Dip Lady!

Capture

A month ago I took a small trip with my Bride to the beautiful state of Arizona. Our plans down there were to visit Grandma and Grandpa who like other retired Minnesota snow-birds, flocked down to the warmer regions of the US to nest under the hot sun. Now I must say I’m not one for very touristy type places. When I go to a place like Arizona, I would rather play cowboy and wander on some lonely desert trails or drive through the back roads into the mountains seeking the perfect picture amid the landscape. I don’t mind trying recommended restaurants, or puttering around a historical museum. Heck, even an over populated ghost town is cool sometimes. I’m just not one for highly populated tourist towns with overpriced shops. Well, the first day I was there I had no choice. My Wife, along with Grandma and Grandpa, dragged me to the Mesa Swap Meet. I heard that the Mesa Swap Meet was large enough to not only populate a small city; it also got you real acquainted with the brand of deodorant the person next to you was wearing, if any. To say the least, it was packed and it was only 10 am.

IMG_0736

Upon wandering around the many aisles of the swap meet, looking at cheap toys, overpriced candy, and art, you will also find yourself being given a sample of other people’s homemade culinary creations. I had everything from jalapeno flavored popcorn, salsas and dried fruits of every kind. Though there was one booth that stuck out to me, The Dip Lady. Along with her big yellow sign, her friendly smile was enough to invite you in and try out her many creations of dip. With a handful of pretzels, I made my way around her booth trying out her homemade creations. The Dip lady is very creative with not only the way she names her dips, but with the variety of dips she offers. I tried everything from Pete’s Parmesan Peppercorn to Homicide Habanero. She also offered some fruity dips such as Pineapple Passion and Janet’s Apple Cinnamon. There was not a dip on her table of samples I didn’t like. I didn’t want to leave! I told my Wife and Grandma to just leave me there for the day.

pparm

Pete’s Parmesan Peppercorn


Well, I hung around The Dip Lady long enough I figured it was time for me to purchase something. Not only were the dips very tasty, the price was right too. I walked away with four flavors for only $10. You can’t beat that!

 

 

 

ppfd1

Pineapple Passion

 

 

Needless to say, I’m not just a fan, but I am a returning customer. If you are in Arizona for vacation, stop by the Mesa Swap Meet and visit The Dip Lady. Try a few or all of the samples. If you are not able to make it to Arizona soon, you can order some of her famous dips at www.diplady.com. A great snack while sitting out on your grilling patio next to a smokey pit!

Thanks Carla!

30 responses

  1. Liz

    any chance you (or your Bride) will be trying your hand at making similarly flavored dips? Does everyone in Minnesota have parents who winter in Arizona? (I do, too.)

    March 21, 2013 at 7:38 pm

    • You know, I didn’t think of it. Maybe I’ll give it a try. I’ll have to research it a bit though.

      March 21, 2013 at 8:23 pm

      • Liz

        Looking forward 🙂 Couldn’t be grilled, but you COULD spread it on grilled bread, potato etc.

        March 22, 2013 at 9:35 pm

  2. debbeedoodles

    I found a Dip Lady at a local farmers market once. You’re right the dips are great!

    March 21, 2013 at 7:40 pm

    • Really? That’s pretty cool. Did you walk away with any of her creations?

      March 22, 2013 at 8:09 am

      • debbeedoodles

        Yes, I bought a package that I was supposed to mix with some mayo… (can’t remember the flavor). I never made it. It just wasn’t the same.

        March 22, 2013 at 8:26 pm

  3. HOWDY! From the sunny isle of Southern Arizona! Yup, I’ve bought a dip or two from the Dip Lady at different local markets and festivals here in AZ. They’re mighty tasty, gotta’ say. ALOHA Y’ALL!!

    March 21, 2013 at 8:57 pm

    • Ahhh… and Arizonanite! I sure enjoyed what little I saw of your state. The hike up Superstition Mountains was my highlight, well of course along with running into the dip lady.

      March 22, 2013 at 8:04 am

    • hey auntidoni….appreciate the loyalty!!

      March 26, 2013 at 8:42 am

      • will look for you again, good stuff Carla, Mahalo, thanks!

        March 26, 2013 at 10:47 am

  4. This reminds me of a lady who goes by Ordinary Evelyn who sells dips, salsas, pickled veggies, etc. at the Pumpkin Festival in WV. They are all extremely delicious, and I buy tons of her dips every year! It’s always a joy to stumble upon good food!

    March 21, 2013 at 9:24 pm

  5. Well i have to say that i’m smiling from ear to ear over this post…..can you all guess who this is? Yup…you guessed right…The Dip Lady herself! This was just awesome! Thanks a bunch…..Carla

    March 22, 2013 at 12:50 am

    • Carla, Welcome to our humble blog. I’m glad you enjoyed the post. I encourage our readers to really try your dips. GOOD STUFF!!

      March 22, 2013 at 8:01 am

  6. My type of place! I will forward this to my sons who live in Mesa so that they can stock up!

    March 22, 2013 at 7:25 am

    • Glad you like it! Yes, tell your sons to check it out. Not only delicious, but a great deal too!!!

      March 22, 2013 at 8:02 am

    • hi John and Mary….I am in the North end of Row D spaces 206-208…tell your sons to mention this post so i can put the connection together. thanks a bunch!

      March 26, 2013 at 8:31 am

  7. I live in Mesa and have never been to the swap meet – for the very reasons you stated above. Just seeing the line of cars backed up to the freeway, awaiting entrance is enough to deter me. I will certainly seek her out though, just elsewhere. To answer Liz’s comment above, yes, everyone in Minnesota has parents who winter in Arizona. Everyone. And they are great drivers. 😉 I will be looking for the Dip Lady at the Farmer’s Market tomorrow.

    March 22, 2013 at 3:01 pm

    • It was busy, but I’d go back. All the food samples were worth it.

      March 22, 2013 at 7:02 pm

    • hi Danielle…how are you? I am not at any of the Farmer’s Markets but I can tell you that the Swap Meet is now slowing down because a lot of the snowbirds are starting to leave. I hear you on the cars lined up to the highway….that’s because they are all coming to see me….ha ha ha! When you come in the market….go all the way to the end and make your way to the west side of the parking lot and there are plenty of spots in that area to park…plus the exit is on that side as well. You will then be close to my booth and might even see my huge yellow and purple banner saying “Got Dip?”….see you soon!

      March 26, 2013 at 8:37 am

      • Okay, Carla you’ve convinced me. I will be brave and give the swap meet a try and will absolutely look for you there. Soon I will have dip! 🙂

        March 28, 2013 at 6:31 pm

  8. grizyeti

    Absolutely going to order some dips as soon as funds accumulate.

    Maybe not fruity ones, but for sure some of the others, super share and find!!

    March 28, 2013 at 2:33 pm

    • Hi Grizyeti, The fruity ones are delicious but if you’re not into them…you just can’t force it! I have 11 party dips that you mix sour cream and mayo….check me out sometime ok. http://www.diplady.com
      thanks Carla

      April 8, 2013 at 7:10 pm

  9. grizyeti

    Reblogged this on Grizz-Tion.

    March 28, 2013 at 2:34 pm

  10. Bill McNally

    Great blog by John. We used the Dip Lady’s mixes during Easter Sunday meal here in New Hampshire! Love that Dip Lady – dad

    April 1, 2013 at 8:15 am

    • Hi dad, thanks for checking out this awesome write up on me….pretty cool huh? Your daughter is super famous…

      April 8, 2013 at 7:12 pm

Leave a Reply

