Two Men, Two Pits and a Blog

Slow Smoked Ribs: The High Art of Loitering

A female Cardinal lit on the bird feeder yonder, pecking at the seed. The sun hung like a fiery chandelier in a blue Minnesota sky,female cardinal dappling through the Spruce, and budding Cottonwoods, and glittering off the pond whilst a pair of mallards conspired for lunch along the edge of it. Chickadees flirted to and fro the suet I had hung for them, and a broad-tailed hawk spiraled upon the thermals far above. I stirred quietly in my BBQ chair, coming to for a moment to hear the tweety birds sing sweetly in the breeze. It felt good to loiter at the tail end of a sun beam today. To make the acquaintance of this old friend removed, from a winter long-standing. I stretched like a spoiled house cat in my chair, and took a sip of cool beverage, whilst casting an eye at the smoker thermometer. 225 degree it said. Which was perfect for the kind of loitering I had in mind today. Smoking ribs is hard work don’t you know, and I had been at it for a couple of hours already, and I do believe I could fancy another nap, as the BBQ rigors this day were decidedly high. Thus, I tipped my hat back over my eyes and resumed the proper BBQ posture, feet kicked up, at ease with the world, and the abiding aroma of smoldering hickory in the air. Welcome to rib smoking 101, POTP style.

Now I suppose, iffin you’ll let me, that I should go back to the beginning and show you few things about today’s smoke. There are a lot of wonderful things in this world you can choose to lay in a cooker and subject smoke to, and a man has got to reckon that a rack of succulent ribs might be the very best. There is nothing quite so fine as pig on the bone, perfectly smoked, married in a deep flavor profile, and yet tender to the teeth. Many a backyard pit keeper aspires towards ribs, often at first intimidated by the unruly cut of meat. Many a professional pit master, likewise, has spent the better part of their adult life pursuing this perfection in pork. No matter where you are on the rib ladder, one thing is for sure – ribs are good, and the journey, dare we say, is half the fun.

20130507_133941_edit0

Things started out by firing up the big 22 1/2 inch WSM.  As usual per my pit tendencies,  I was in the mood for a little low and slow. The scenic route on the highway of BBQ. I set up the fire bowl using the Minion Method of course, because I had a lot of napping I wanted to get done today, and didn’t want to be bothered with the business of lighting up more charcoal again later. And let it be said, a Weber Smokey Mountain set up with the Minion Method affords a fellow a good deal of opportunity for napping. Its real easy to do too. Simply pour a chimney full of lit charcoal right smack in the middle of a bunch of unlit charcoal. Depending on how much coal you use, and how you tweak the vents, your cooker can burn at 225 to 250 for a very, very long time.  Its a worthy technique used by many. If you want to learn more about it in-depth, feel free to waddle on over to our write-up, The Long Burn:The Method of Jim Minion. 

After the smoker had gotten up to 225, and after I had ripped the membrane off the back of the ribs, and after it was liberally dustedafterfocus_1367969942859_edit0 over its entirety with SuckleBusters,  Hog Waller Rub; after all these things, and procuring another cool, lovely beverage, the ribs were lovingly placed in the pit, top grate, like laying a new-born baby down on the diaper table. Well maybe not quite like that, but careful even so, so as not to knock off any of the precious rub. Lid on, and at once the Hickory smoke began to curl, bringing that signature scent to a man’s pit that equals sublime harmony with elevated levels of protein. Thus, and under very blue skies, I repaired to my BBQ easy chair, found something to kick my feet up on, and proceeded henceforth to ponder the day. And a sweet, pit-side nap was soon enough forthcoming.

You all know the old saying, “good things come to those who wait“.  Probably true. But I also suspect that maybe crap can show up right away. Oh how many of us, at one time or another, have rushed our beloved rack of ribs. Pressing them along too fast, or too hot, only to render them into flanks of inedible boot leather.  That is not how to do ribs, or much of any good BBQ for that matter. Let us at once revel and thrive in the slow ways. Dare to practice thy patience. May your rendering collagen be bathed in sweet time, and your bark emerge like the glaciers of yesteryear.  For the smokey arts are rather a beautiful past time when you think about it, so what then would be your hurry to rush haphazardly through it. Nay! Now is our time, as patrons of the pit, to slow it all down, and tarry in the good favor of rising wood smoke and the savory aromas of sizzling meat. It is our highest privilege, to take the scenic route and try if we can to pause the sun momentarily in the sky. And we will.

20130507_171013_edit0

Now one of the most common mistakes to procuring perfect ribs is over-cooking them. Folks tho do rather love to gloat that their ribs were “fall-of-the-bone perfect”. But as any competition rib bloke knows, if they are falling off the bone, you have done went and over-cooked them. And the judges will dock you accordingly, because it took less skill. They still taste amazing tho, no doubt, because at the end of the day, good is good, and ribs are good. And back yard pit keepers, well, they don’t really care anyways, so long as they can muckle themselves some rib meat at cook’s end.  But if you want to challenge yourself, and hone your pit craft some, try to smoke them so they have some meat retention left on the bone. You want the meat to easily rip of the bone with each bite, yet be tender and succulent to chew. Such perfection lurks in a narrow window, its panes fogged with smoke, and so you must check in on your ribs frequently then, and further more you must know when they are done.

When a rib is done is a fickle business, because ribs vary, and smokers do to. Many like the bend test, and that is when you hold the end of the rack in your tongs and let them bend, like a fat man walking out onto a diving board. When the meat starts to split open at the bend, they are probably done. Likewise, others fancy the toothpick test, where the picker pokes his pick in the pork, and if it slides through real easy, its probably done. Others like to twist on a bone. Others go strictly by the clock. What I like to do is just by-pass the wondering all together, and cut myself off a hunk and try and eat the thing. You’ll know pretty quick what you’ve got on your hands.

Anyways, after about three hours of supreme loitermanship, for good measure, I tossed on a pot of peach baked beans and some chicken legs, and I also went ahead and foiled the ribs with a splash of apple juice. Foiling them, or the Texas Crutch, never seems to fail in loosening the meat up a little.  Often times, its where the magic happens.  You certainly don’t have to, but its success ratio is too good to ignore. So foil them and be not ashamed. I checked in on them after about 45 minutes, and by golly, they were eager little things turned out, and ready it seemed for their destiny according to my belly. I was kind of dismayed the smoke wasn’t going to last longer. But that is the nature of the BBQ arts. It is done when its done, as they say. And boy these ribs were done just right! I proceeded then to remove them from the foil and lay them back on the grate and then to sauce them with SuckleBusters Original BBQ Sauce. Brush strokes of love,  upon my own personal, Rib Rembrandt.

20130507_170657_edit0

Nothing quite like meat on the bone to set a man straight. Succulent. Tender. Smokey goodness! I took this sample back to my BBQ chair from whence I have loitered so well, and needless to say, had my way with it. Truly a pit master privilege. I smiled contentedly, BBQ sauce strewn across my face and over my belly. I kicked my feet up again, content with what I had done. And the mama Cardinal watched from the Alders. Amen.

32 responses

  1. Reblogged this on My Meals are on Wheels.

    May 13, 2013 at 9:30 am

  2. Excellent! Thanks for sharing.

    May 13, 2013 at 10:45 am

  3. Adam

    Genius. You sir, are not just a master of the BBQ art, but also a wordsmith of high poetic grace. Bless you.

    May 13, 2013 at 12:39 pm

  4. There isn’t anything much better than slow smoked ribs. I dearly love them. Very nice, indeed. 🙂

    May 13, 2013 at 1:38 pm

  5. Ohhh, yummy!!!!

    May 13, 2013 at 3:06 pm

  6. Really good tips, many of which I didn’t know. Nothing like a good rib, now I’m hungry!

    May 13, 2013 at 3:59 pm

  7. Yeah, I’m hungry too. The hardest part it seems of blogging about food, is blogging about food. Aw well. Thanks!

    May 13, 2013 at 4:09 pm

  8. Prose and smoked ribs, it’s all here at The Pit. I’m not religious by any means, I am however an avid reader. I well remember reading in the Old Testament about the offering of roasted meat via sacrifice to God and he knew that it was good. So I can now see you blokes as missionaries of meat, or perhaps reverends of roasts. I could go on, I won’t, knowing me I may have already crossed over some line. 🙂 Great blog post by the way.
    Cheers
    Laurie.

    May 13, 2013 at 4:46 pm

    • Why thank you, Laurie. No line crossed at all. We always fancy your comments! Ah yes, the reverends of roast. I shall have to ponder that one!

      May 13, 2013 at 7:09 pm

      • That’s good, I tend to open my big mouth at times and say/write things. Looking forward to your next offerings.
        Laurie.

        May 14, 2013 at 4:11 am

  9. Great lead up to a mighty finale!!

    May 13, 2013 at 7:38 pm

  10. Good grief your work reads so darn well!

    May 13, 2013 at 7:45 pm

  11. I love that picture of the birdie! Beautiful.

    May 13, 2013 at 11:17 pm

  12. Liz

    love that your smoker was fired up for ribs! looking amazing and I’d bet no leftovers. Curious if you fired up your grill on this 95F day. Crazy stuff. Thanks for another lovely-to-read post 🙂

    May 14, 2013 at 10:13 pm

    • Hi Liz,
      Yeah no, didn’t fire up the grill yesterday. I was tempted. But I didn’t. Feels weird to grill now when my drink doesn’t freeze solid in the cup. I can get used to it I guess.

      May 15, 2013 at 10:35 am

  13. Superlative. You got me wanting to rush home, tear open that package of Hog Waller I won at an Eggfest but not yet tried and start smoking some ribs. You are oh so right about falling off the bone. Them’s be over done ribs.

    May 15, 2013 at 6:48 am

    • Hey ya Griff! Yeah, I suspect you’ll dig that Hog Waller. Everything we’ve tried from SuckleBusters has been very good.

      May 15, 2013 at 10:26 am

  14. Pingback: Super Sweet Award | aristonorganic

  15. Congratulations! I have nominated you for the Super Sweet Award. More about this nomination is at http://aristonorganic.wordpress.com/2013/05/16/super-sweet-award/ Please feel free to take your time with putting up your own post about it, or if you do not wish to reply, that is alright, I just wanted to show my appreciation for your wonderful blog. All the best to you!

    May 16, 2013 at 4:24 am

  16. Ahh, the old debate of when ribs are “ready”. BBQ enthusiasts say fall off the bone. BBQ fanatics say before then. I hate over cooking my ribs, but when i feed others, it is fall off the bone.

    Yet another great, descriptive and insightful post from the good time, beverage drinking meat cooking mack daddy hoss.

    May 16, 2013 at 5:28 pm

  17. Great Place to find great ways to cook BBQ !!

    May 17, 2013 at 9:39 pm

  18. “…tarrying in the good flavor of rising wood smoke and the savory aromas of sizzling meat…” and “supreme loitermanship…” What a pairing! Man, you guys just nail it every time! 🙂

    May 24, 2013 at 11:10 am

  19. Pingback: The Long Burn:The Method of Jim Minion | Patrons of the Pit

  20. Wow! Great blog! So glad you liked my post and now I have found you guys! Unfortunately, I’m at work… No time to read about barbecue! There is always tonight! Keep up the great work!

    February 10, 2014 at 9:48 am

Leave a Reply

