Two Men, Two Pits and a Blog

How to Talk to Your Meat: Peach Smoked Stuffed Pork Chops

Strolling the local grocer this afternoon, hands in my pockets, I seemed to have had what you might call a chance encounter with a lovely stand of pork chops. They were plentiful and magnificent, and the obvious spoor of a butcher in a good mood, for they were about one-and-one-quarters inch thick I should wager, iffin they weren’t more than that even.  That and they were on sale too, a modicum of reasoning I’m sure my bride would approve. It was destiny in the meat aisle, or something there short of it. If pork chops could talk, these dudes beckoned heavily from their frigid wares, if but to yammer, “Please, take me oh pit keeper, and eat me henceforth! Make me all that I can be!” I cast a glance side-to-side, eyes darting about like a predatory cat – this on the off-chance I might need to fend off a little old lady heading for my spoils. But I was in luck, and no old ladies were in sight. I gazed upon the chops there and promptly croaked “Your mine!” Snatching up two of them like young Richard Simmons to a donut buffet. Its best I suppose not to let the locals there, nor the governing bodies see you talking to their meat, for it stirs up a mild controversy you could say. But if the conversation doesn’t draw out too long, you should be alright. Quietly pay for your plunder, then tuck it under your arm like an NFL fullback, tip your hat to the cashier, and make a good expression of haste.

I brought these beautiful chops home and immediately immersed them in a homemade honey garlic marinade. A brew of which has proven more that adept over the years at bringing out the better side of pork. Its real easy to make, and we’ve mentioned it here before, but who cares, here it is again!

Honey Garlic Marinade

3 tablespoons sugar

1/3 cup soy sauce

3 tablespoons honey

2 tablespoons sesame oil

2 teaspoons garlic salt

1 teaspoon cracked pepper

After four long hours in the marinade, suppertime shadows fell across the pit area out back. The coals were already conspiring in the old chimney starter, weathered from the ages, belching forth that initial rush of smoke into the evening air. Plumes of it, curling, and rising into the thin blue sky. Signifying to yourself and who ever else is paying attention, that you are once again in your glory, doing precisely that which is well with your soul. And there is a giddiness in the air, electric almost, like the first day of summer vacation as a kid. It is a good day, but all days are I guess, to be a patron of the pit.

20130731_174956_edit0

These beautiful, thick chops, I sliced a little pocket into them with a sharp knife before they hit the marinade. A strategy, it stands to reason, to get more of that delicious marinade into the heart of the meat.  But also, to create a useful void in which to fill, nay, to pack to the gills with a heaping pile of home-made stuffing.  Oh yes, cram it in there good, for this is your feast, your opus in meat. After they were packed tight with stuffing, and sort of held together with a some toothpicks, they were ready for the grill. So let’s get out there, where the metal meets the meat. And let us do what we were born to do. To put meat to flame, and declare that it is good!

The Stuffing is your basic Thanksgiving stuffing affair, consisting, well, of what we had handy.

3 cups of bread crumbs

1/2 onion, chopped and sauteed 

1/4 cup of finely Chopped Italian Parsley 

A little water or broth to bring it all together

Anyways, over in-direct heat as usual, carefully place your beloved and betrothed, pork chops that is, and listen to them sing and sizzle whence they merge onto that hot, fiery grate. Oh how we favor that sound. Tongs in my hands, I glance out over the pond, just in time, it turns out, to see the local Great Blue Heron gliding effortlessly on giant wings, and splashing down into the water there. Ripples radiate outwards across the pond, shimmering in the slanting shafts of a golden sun. I smile to myself, as I toss some peach wood chips, directly onto the coals, and carefully put the black-enameled lid on the old kettle grill. Say what you will, but this is living. And living well.

20130731_181730_edit0

When the chops reached what I estimated to be mostly done, I got out the old black iron pan, and began putting together the home-made caramel apple sauce. Its pretty easy to do. Two apples diced as you desire, a few pats of butter and enough brown sugar to make it interesting. And do not forget a little cinamon too. Sizzle it all together in the pan over the coals, stirring frequently until apples are cooked, and tender. Perhaps splash a bit of your pit beverage in there too, just because.  Nothing is quite so fine as standing over your old kettle grill, whilst the sun dips behind the houses to the West, and the song birds serenade thee from atop the fragrant Spruce. Stirring the apple sauce, the aroma of the chops, and smoldering peach wood, wafting up past your nasal front, and the sweet summer breezes caressing through the garden greens and  pit-side Petunias. Glory be! Now why would you ever want to cook inside!

Around about when the applesauce was complete, so to were the pork chops which once wooed me so fiercely. They looked good. A lot better than they did in the butcher’s shanty. And I told them this. Told them that they looked mighty attractive now, and that they would be proud if they could see themselves. That if that quantum entanglement deal I once heard about on PBS, some how applied to pigs and their parts, that maybe the previous owners of these chops would be suitably flattered. No, I don’t expect you to follow that. Suffice it to say, however, these chops kicked pig butt, and they were good! Real good! Leastwise, that’s what I keep telling them. Tho I’m not sure why.

20130731_183153_edit0

Honey Garlic Marinated, Peach Smoked, Stuffed Pork Chops with a Home-Made Caramel Apple Sauce. Good golly!

Grill on, Folks!

33 responses

  1. looks delicious. might give these a try sometime soon 🙂 thanks for sharing!

    August 6, 2013 at 9:53 am

  2. Oh my friend, your blog is dangerous. Because I now have to go to a meeting at our high school, but everything in me wants to stay at home, light up the Weber and BRAAI (the beautiful Afrikaans word for a bbq… This looks so good, I think I must print it and try it very soon…

    August 6, 2013 at 10:23 am

    • Haha, yup, that’s how it goes. Try writing about BBQ every week…You’re hungry all the time….

      Take care,

      -POTP

      August 6, 2013 at 10:50 am

  3. … but what comprised your stuffing, or as my DH calls it, filling? and one more question if you please: sugar and honey in the marinade? hmmm, interesting, I will need to try your concoction. Many Mahalos (thanks) oh POTP, Auntie Doni

    August 6, 2013 at 10:31 am

    • Well Auntiedoni, the filling was a rather simple affair of bread crumbs, butter, sauteed onions, and some finely chopped Italian parsley. Basically what we had laying around. It was very good.

      Yeah, its a sweet marinade. Sweet-toothed people will probably like it. We like it on pork.

      Aloha!

      August 6, 2013 at 10:48 am

  4. I’m already conspiring with myself to check out the pork chops when we hit the store today. I second the question…what did you use in the stuffing?

    August 6, 2013 at 10:44 am

    • I vacillated a considerable time on what to use for the stuffing, and couldn’t make up my mind. So I ended up using basically your standard Thanksgiving stuffing. Made up of bread crumbs, sauteed onions and some chopped Italian parsley. Another commentor however thought it was peach stuffing, which is wasn’t, but sounds like a pretty good idea to me.

      August 6, 2013 at 10:56 am

  5. Looks good. I’ve got some chops in the fridge, so we may have to try this tonight. I’m curious to know more about the peach stuffing.

    August 6, 2013 at 10:49 am

    • It was smoked with peach wood, the stuffing is just stuffing, like you’d eat at thanks giving. But man, peach stuffing is a great idea. Why didn’t I think of that! Thank you!

      -Potp

      August 6, 2013 at 10:52 am

      • How about chopping up a couple of dried apricots and pecans and tossing them in the stuffing? Of course we add wild pork sausage, too. That’s what we do at the Deerslayer household for Thanksgiving stuffing.

        August 11, 2013 at 2:04 pm

      • Yum Mrs. Deerslayer! Love sausage in stuffing. You live too well down there.

        August 11, 2013 at 5:13 pm

  6. Garlic, honey, pork chop, perfumed smoke. What’s not to like, as they say. Good work fellas.

    August 6, 2013 at 12:22 pm

    • Yes, it was an easy meal to swallow.

      Thanks Adam.

      Take care!
      -Potp

      August 6, 2013 at 2:53 pm

  7. I love the marinade with the pork, as always everything sounds so delicious. Peach stuffing sounds great, genius!!

    August 6, 2013 at 12:22 pm

    • Thank you. Good to see you!

      August 6, 2013 at 2:53 pm

      • I have been burning the candle from both ends with work. I am just now catching up on posts, I feel deprived.

        August 6, 2013 at 3:00 pm

      • Wow. May there be a very fine vacation in your future then. Sounds like you deserve one.

        Take care!

        August 6, 2013 at 3:02 pm

  8. I consider myself a chef. Those that I feed consider me a good cook. But you, my friend, are an artist!

    August 6, 2013 at 2:40 pm

  9. I love the simplicity of the dish; yum.

    August 6, 2013 at 5:14 pm

  10. Magnificent and entertaining post. I’ve never stuffed chops before, but I’ve never meat behemoth chops. Apple and pork are great friends and your apple caramel sauce sounds sinfully good. Those pork chops are lucky to be adopted by you.

    August 6, 2013 at 5:40 pm

  11. as usual, YUMMY !

    August 7, 2013 at 8:14 pm

    • Good eating. And low humidity here today in the land of lakes. Skies of blue. Cool breezes. The kind of day that gives summer a good name again.

      August 7, 2013 at 8:35 pm

  12. Liz

    mmm mmmm. I find it surprising that more people do not talk to their meat. All food has a story 🙂

    August 7, 2013 at 10:09 pm

    • I think only food bloggers talk to their meat. Leastwise, they are the only ones who will admit it!

      Thanks much Liz!

      August 8, 2013 at 9:48 am

  13. thebestreuben

    I have never thought to stuff them like that! Thanks for the idea!!

    August 8, 2013 at 4:31 pm

  14. fabulous recipe! You know the apple stuff would be superb on waffles, pancakes, oatmeal, ice cream………..

    August 11, 2013 at 2:11 pm

    • You are an elite culinary mind. All good ideas! Thank much Mrs Deerslayer!

      Now I need a waffle..

      August 11, 2013 at 5:15 pm

  15. oh my goood. i am so hungry right now!! (:

    August 17, 2013 at 1:54 pm

Leave a Reply

