Two Men, Two Pits and a Blog

How To Pacify Your Man: New York Strip Steak!

Nothing is quite so fine on a brisk Autumn’s eve, than the primal sizzle of two, portly New York Strip steaks over a beautiful bed of coals.  By IMG_0159golly it sets a man straight it does, this the protein-rich pacifier that is called steak. We love it. In point of fact, if you ever want to shut a man up, slap a steak in front of him, and watch how he instantly transforms, suckling up to the beast in kind affection, whilst the rest of his worldly cares are at once erased. Oh it’s true. Reminiscent of those Hollywood scenarios, where felons or good guys alike are on the run, chased by ravaging canines, darting through city streets and over back yard fences. Then they stop, hark, they have a raw steak in their knapsack don’t you know, of which they promptly toss in the path of their fanged pursuer. And in a flip of a heart beat, the drooling beast has a moral dilemma on his hands, of which and of course, he promptly caves to.

Over direct heat, I flipped the two strip steaks, both lightly seasoned in garlic and onion salt. Gray clouds rolled nonchalantly overhead whilst the tweety birds swooped in and out of the thickets.  Now the New York Strip is the same cut as the Kansas City Strip. I know, you weren’t wondering that, but it is. But to you folks over seas, you’ll probably recognize the cut as a club steak. And if you’re really off the bell curve, like in Australia, you’ll just call it a boneless sirloin and be done with it altogether.  Who ever is in charge of meat nomenclature has way too much authority, and fun. Regardless of what you call it tho, it is harvested from the short loin, which is a pleasantly abiding muscle of real estate, not only for the cow, but our supper plates as well. The short loin is kind of a lazy muscle, you see, and doesn’t do much work, and there fore is particularly tender.  A fact which also makes it particularly suited for it’s inevitable destiny with our pits. Lazy meat is good for something after all.

IMG_0165

After a fashion, I tossed some hickory wood on the coals for to infuse some of that smokey goodness into the steaks, and tucked them in-direct for a little bit, just because. Then placed the lid on and let it do its thing whilst I did mine. I never grow weary of this portion of a cook out. That hallowed parcel of time in which it is acceptable, nay, proper even, to take up residence in my favorite man chair, and while away a few minutes doing nothing at all. Kind of like a short loin, go figure. Often times my bride will slide open the patio door and see me sitting there , shrouded in clouds of smoke, contemplating the curvature of my belly.  Tho she does not completely understand it, she knows I am in my own space, and politely sidles off, closing the door behind her.

Whence our steaks were of acceptable firmness to the tong, I plated-up and sided the beautiful cuts with some garlic mashed potatoes and a lovely vegetable melody for to please the little lady.

Lets eat this like a man tonight” I bellowed.

Hows that?” she countered “Sans utensils?

Well no, on the couch of course“, I yammered”In front of the TV!”

We promptly inhaled our plunder like an alligator to a bull frog dipped in gravy. Or something like that. Or at least one of us did. And whilst the pretty pictures flashed on the TV, and the steaks settled into our guts, I found great contentment indeed, and heavy eye lids, in the primal glow of post-gorging. My bride glanced my way and it seems I was chin-down, contemplating my belly again. She sweetly removed a plop of mash potatoes off my chest, trying not to squelch my steak-induce mojo.  She knew, as surely as she knew anything, that her man was pacified. That he was content indeed. And that a big steak, perfectly grilled,  may have played a part in it. Amen.

IMG_0171

New York Strip Steak hot off the grill. Oh buddy! Next time you need to pacify your man, considerable the venerable strip steak. It works. Side effects may include protracted belly contemplation.

29 responses

  1. This could get me a new pair of shoes. Wink wink

    October 29, 2013 at 9:48 am

    • There is no telling what a good steak to do for you. Carry on!

      October 29, 2013 at 9:50 am

  2. Pacify my man?! Sod that, I want my man to pacify me with a steak like that! Damn that looks good.

    October 29, 2013 at 10:06 am

  3. A nice read. But my brain got stuck on “We promptly inhaled our plunder like an alligator to a bull frog dipped in gravy.” I just couldn’t get that visual out of my head. 🙂

    October 29, 2013 at 10:24 am

    • Well that line of words came to be because I had just watched a documentary of some sort on Florida, and the utter prolific quantity of alligators you all have down there. It’s disturbing how many of them dudes are waddling around you right now. So alligators were on my mind.

      Thanks kindly, TJ. Always a treat when you chime in.
      Blessings, man!

      October 29, 2013 at 10:30 am

  4. Amen!

    October 29, 2013 at 10:27 am

  5. I grew up in my father slaughter house and meat cutting and packing house. So, needless to say, I know the trade, right from the killing floor to the final packaged meat. Back then there were just your basic cuts of meat, steaks being no exception. Top and Bottom Round , Sirloin, Sirloin Tip, Porter House T-Bone, T-Bone, Rib, and Chuck Steak. It was not until I went to work in a regular super market that I found out that there were so many other names that could be given the same, or part of the same cuts of meat. And to this day when wandering the meat isles I still see a new name thrown at me from time to time. Oh well, I guess it’s all part of marketing.

    October 29, 2013 at 12:12 pm

    • What you said!
      Well regardless of all the name calling, good is still good, and meat is good.

      Thanks kindly for chiming in, Richard. I’m having a grand old time reading through your blog. I just love your stuff!

      October 29, 2013 at 2:29 pm

  6. Hello, and thanks for checking out my rhetoric! Dare I ask the sacrilege question, but have you advice (short of short-pier walking) for grilling vegetarian style? I stumbled upon a killer easy way to make asparagus and ALWAYS have takers scrapping for it, but there is a very big world of veggies out there.

    October 29, 2013 at 1:07 pm

    • Haha, thats funny. We have no shame in vegetables around the pit, in point of fact, they’re great as you know. We love to grill peppers, all kinds of peppers, and to stuff them with what ever. Onions are amazing on the grill. Big old portobelllo mushrooms are excellent. And fruit too. Man. Grilled pineapples will make your mouth water. And have you ever tried grilled peaches drizzled in homemade caramel sauce? Same with an apple sliced and foiled up with butter and brown sugar. Oh man!

      Yes indeed, the meatless grilling potential is vast. Thanks for having the guts to chime in!

      October 29, 2013 at 4:59 pm

      • The pineapple appeals to me. Going to have to try the peaches and the apples for that matter. I have done the onions intermingled with other veggies on a shish kabob (which spell check wanted to change to a hashish kabob…go figure.) My latest attempt has been corn on the cob, soaked overnight with the husks on to grill. Yum!

        October 29, 2013 at 6:02 pm

  7. Love that smokin’ bbQ! The slab of meat looks fantastic

    October 29, 2013 at 1:19 pm

  8. Liz

    Your photo somehow made me smell steak 😀 Well played! What a lovely tale you have spun. Hard to make a meal eaten in front of the tv sound sexy and romantic (and deliicous), but you’ve done it.

    Regarding the title of your post, please tell me you’ve been to Strip Club just outside of downtown St. Paul. (deja vu–I’ve already asked you this, yes?) http://domeats.com/

    October 29, 2013 at 10:24 pm

    • This is John down in Ecuador – but when I worked in St. Paul I thought all of the strip clubs were on Payne Avenue?

      October 30, 2013 at 6:47 am

    • No, I don’t think you’ve ever asked that before, and I thank you for the clarifying link, as I was getting a little worried! Never heard of it. It looks like a pretty good place tho!

      Thanks Liz. Your comments always generate thinking! The hallmark of a quality commentor.

      PS.. John from Ecuador had a question for you

      October 30, 2013 at 9:59 am

      • Liz

        Haha, yes I see John is curious. Will set him straight soon enough.

        There’s always an awkward moment when I mention that my husband and I went to The Strip Club, but it’s all part of the wink-and-a-nod thing they have going on. Spendy (only been once), but definitely a place to take your bride for special occasions. Thinking they don’t do much (any) grilling, but they’re wicked with steak–and all other meat and lots of vegetables, too–and your photo brought them to mind.

        Also, fantastico hand-crafted cocktails. Highly recommend the Cobra Kai, which contains homemade habanero bitter. (must-read review: http://www.citypages.com/bestof/2012/award/best-cocktail-for-putting-hair-on-your-chest-2455463/) The bartender actually sells his own line of DIY bitter kits. How cool is that?

        Thanks for your kind words. Glad to have connected.

        October 30, 2013 at 10:25 am

  9. Reblogged this on Herbal Supplements.

    October 29, 2013 at 11:28 pm

  10. I would like one please, this is my favorite time of year to grill and the NY strip is almost my favorite cut of steak, tied with the rib eye. This would make me very happy!

    October 30, 2013 at 10:17 am

    • Ah yes, rib eyes are better still. The choice cut for those who hunger!

      Dang it, now I’m hungry again.

      Thanks puginthekitchen!

      October 30, 2013 at 10:32 am

  11. davidjdotson

    Oh man. I’m now getting to work on a steak-and-potatoes taco made with NY strip. This was beautiful.

    October 30, 2013 at 10:47 am

  12. sarahfoto

    I should start wearing a bib every time I check your blog out, can’t stop drooling.

    October 31, 2013 at 1:05 pm

  13. Good stuff! Grilling is a way of life here too in South Texas!

    November 1, 2013 at 9:36 pm

    • Ah yes , Texas and BBQ. You all have it going on down there!

      November 1, 2013 at 10:24 pm

Leave a Reply

