Two Men, Two Pits and a Blog

Joie de Vivre: Cajun Burgers on Grill

Location: Pond-side Pit

Temperature : 42 Degrees F

Time: Dusk

What a pleasure it is, on a crisp Autumn’s eve, to be favored by a beautiful stack of coals, maturing pit-side, whilst the celestial curtain is pulled clear 20131101_173818_edit0on the first stars of the night. Wisps of wood smoke curl into the cool air, and the heat from the fire feels just right on your hands. The dry rustle of scattering leaves, and the quaint company of the little pit radio, tuned to the local oldies station, regaling thee in a soft, acoustic wall paper via it’s single, tinny-sounding speaker. All the tweety birds have snuggled down now, content, and the old woolen smoking jacket is well-placed tonight, collar turned up, and undeniably cozy. The French have a wonderful saying.  “Joie de Vivre”, which means, joy of living. A concept easily appreciated it seems, pit-side in November.

The Cajuns are no strangers to the joy of living, and on the pit tonight, a little homage to their fun-loving spirit, and joy of good eating. A little spice. A little pepper. And a whole lot of fun, patron to the pit, with Oak Smoked Cheddar Cajun Burgers. And they’re real easy to do.

Cajun peppers

First order of business is to dice up some bell pepper and onion, which comprise two-thirds of the world re-known Cajun culinary trinity of: onions, bell peppers and celery. I am sorry, but I we cannot bring ourselves to put chopped celery in our hamburgers. Just can’t do it.  Some body else will have to try that. The next step, is to gently fold the chopped onion and bell pepper into patties of 80-20 ground beef, sized in-turn to match your appetite. Our patties came out rather large, go figure. Then we dashed them over with some Cajun seasoning – for to give them that spicy kick, and hence, after a tip of the hat, brought them out to the grill.

Cajun flame

You all know how to cook a burger. Go henceforth with your plunder and do so. And do it with a grin. For this is what every pit keeper longs for, is it not? Just a wee quiet spot of grilling in the freshened air, neath pastel skies, where the breezes murmur sweetly through the trees. And where the wood smoke gently curls, there also you will find our twinkle over the crackling coals. Oh, we could I suppose do our burgers in a frying pan over the stove, but why…We would at once miss out on the great smokey flavors patron to the pit, the fellowship of the flames, and dare I say half the fun in the first place.

I tossed a handful of oak chips into the coals, and gently turned the burgers over. Hands back in my smoking jacket, I digressed some, standing over the pit.

There is nothing quite so fine, I thought, as putting meat to flame, and hearing it sizzle there. It is at once a simplified moment in a complex world. A hallowed parcel of clock in which for a moment, and maybe even longer than that, we are doing precisely that which is well with our souls. And that is no small thing. It is also highly infectious. If there are other men within a hundred yard radius of thee, neighbors peeking tip-toed over the fence, sniffing the air, do not be surprised if they are drawn to your pit too, and the smoke which rises there. For a good grill is a man-magnet, we all know that, and a pit master is every bit as important as the town mayor. Nay, more important than that. And so manly conspiring may frequently occur where sizzling meat is concerned. Impromptu communal loitering, if you will,  over a hemorrhaging bed of coals. The art of the grill is one thing, but sharing that joy with others, in fellowship, is something even better, I thought.   It is Joie de Vivre. And I think it just happened again. Thanks for reading.

Pass the mustard please!

Cajun burger cover

Oak Smoked Cajun  Burgers, packed with peppers and onions and spices, topped with cheddar cheese. And of course we toasted the buns.

40 responses

  1. mmm, pass the MAYO please 😉 ALOHA POTP

    November 13, 2013 at 10:33 am

  2. Mmm these look delicious! The melty cheddar cheese looks like the best part! Thanks for sharing!!

    November 13, 2013 at 10:57 am

  3. YUM!

    November 13, 2013 at 11:11 am

  4. When I owned my meat market, I made 12 different flavors of beef jerky. They were a big seller, the reason being was mine was not tough and stringy, but rather tender. I purchased my premixed seasonings from a company in California. One of my best sellers was Cajun.

    November 13, 2013 at 11:35 am

    • That sounds good! You have lived a good and worthy meat-filled life! What was your secret, if I might ask, to making tender jerky?

      Take care, Richard!

      November 13, 2013 at 11:41 am

  5. Mmmm…I just ate lunch, but I’d rather have had one of your burgers. I had to pull out the ole smokin’ jacket last night when I fired up the Egg.

    November 13, 2013 at 11:53 am

    • What. It gets cold in Texas!

      November 13, 2013 at 12:59 pm

      • We hit the freezing mark the last two nights. Coldest its been since last February. 😉

        November 14, 2013 at 7:09 am

      • A single tear rolls down my cheek.

        November 14, 2013 at 9:15 am

  6. Sounds delicious! I love the voice in this post too! Thanks for stopping by Wordleberry and leading me to your site. I love food so I’m excited to explore!

    November 13, 2013 at 1:35 pm

  7. Not at all. Two things: Instead of using just any scraps of meat outside of prime cuts, I used only beef bottom round steak which I sliced against the grain rather than with it. Secondly, instead of using a slow heat that dries as much as it cooks, I used a faster heat of 300 degrees. (that is a story all in itself) Between the two it made for a product that was tender and not robbed of its rich flavor. The draw-back is, unlike commercial beef jerky, my product would mold once taken out of its vacuum seal packet. I hope that answered your question.

    November 13, 2013 at 1:57 pm

    • That answered it, and then some. Thanks much, Richard! I will need to experiment with that method. Slick!

      November 13, 2013 at 2:05 pm

  8. Love the idea of making the burgers cajun! I use ground turkey for all my burgers and that would be a great way to add flavor!

    November 13, 2013 at 2:05 pm

  9. As always a pleasure to read and to think about eating the food.

    November 13, 2013 at 2:37 pm

  10. twoscamps

    Involuntary salivation !!!!! 😉

    November 13, 2013 at 3:52 pm

    • That’s OK, we’re used to wiping up that stuff! Thanks for stopping by.

      November 13, 2013 at 4:03 pm

      • twoscamps

        LOL! It’s my pleasure to stop by. 🙂

        November 13, 2013 at 6:20 pm

  11. Delicious stuff indeed.

    November 13, 2013 at 3:55 pm

  12. Those burgers are too good looking!! It’s 9AM here and I want a burger for breakfast!

    November 14, 2013 at 8:11 am

    • Hey thanks. And there ain’t nothing really that wrong with a burger for breakfast. You could do worse.

      Congrats on your recent culinary victory, btw, over on your site. You do good stuff!

      Take care
      -POTP

      November 14, 2013 at 9:17 am

  13. Liz

    You eat so well! Today my project will be to figure out what it means to “Go henceforth with your plunder and do so.” Liking the sound of it, though I’m not sure what going henceforth with my plunder would entail. Thinking it all boils down to defining my plunder.

    Speaking of plunder (I think), I found a pho recipe and will give it a go. Though tonight the beef noodle reigns supreme as there’s no 4-hour simmer involved.

    November 14, 2013 at 12:38 pm

    • Ah yes, plunder. To be honest, not sure what the word means either, other than I like how it sounds! I think of it something as a pirate’s booty, or priceless bounty, or a valuable stash of meat in this case. Tho if you were to look up the word “plunder”, it takes on a violent sort of hue I don’t associate with the joy of the pit.

      So I guess, in the end, it means what ever the reader wants it to mean.

      Beef noodle!!! That’s the best kind of noodle!

      Thanks as always Liz, for the thoughtful comments.

      -POTP

      November 14, 2013 at 2:12 pm

  14. Another grill side triumph, boys. Nicely put… BTW have you tried sauteing your adulterants (IE that in your burger which is not meat) first? I wondered if you got a little too much al dente out of the peppers and onions…

    November 14, 2013 at 6:22 pm

    • Oh sure, we have sauteed on occasion before hand, and that always turns out, but some times you just don’t feel like dirtying another dish I guess, and just chopped em up raw. It all tastes good to me.

      Thanks for stopping by, Sir Quincho!

      November 14, 2013 at 6:46 pm

  15. Great post. I would kill for a bite of this burger right now, figuratively, of course…..

    November 16, 2013 at 4:42 am

    • Of course. Yeah, they were good! Then all burgers are I guess. Thanks!

      November 16, 2013 at 4:28 pm

      • I am a foodie and I’m pretty tough with burgers. But this one def looks like a good one. I rate foods and dishes on a scale from 1-10 and the best burger I had was a 9 from the food truck that won the award on the Food Network show The Big Food Truck race.

        November 17, 2013 at 4:32 am

  16. Thank you for not putting celery in your burgers. And thanks for reminding me of the radio in my first car, a 1964 VW bug. Only two little speakers. Resulted in my learning the lyrics to all my favorite songs slightly south of accurate. Pleasant memory none the less.

    November 16, 2013 at 6:10 am

    • Ah yes, memories. My pop had about the same year of VW bug, and I grew up with that car. used to ride in the little cubby hole behind the back seat. Back before the seat belt laws and all. Good times Thanks for the memory stir like-wise!

      -POTP

      November 16, 2013 at 4:27 pm

  17. Dang! That looks good!

    November 16, 2013 at 7:31 am

  18. Reblogged this on Easy Recipes at Home.

    November 17, 2013 at 7:59 am

  19. Pingback: Recipe: Crawfish Patties | I Love Crackers!

Leave a Reply

