Two Men, Two Pits and a Blog

The Simple Things: Cheeseburgers and Sunbeams

I saw the grass today, and it was glorious. The amber beams of an evening sun striking a patch of it, and every soul within sight of that grass paused to rejoiced.  I IMG_02571immediately fell prostrate, poking my nose through the wilted, brown and resilient green blades, sniffing through it like an old coon dog, reveling in the earthy aromas there. I know you southern tier folk are just shaking your head, wondering what the big deal is. You see grass every day. In point of fact, you’re probably tired of your grass. But let it be said, to a winter-locked Minnesotan, after a span of a half-year embedded in snow and ice, just the very sight of their grass sends their soul straight to church! It stirs a person by the heart-strings, and gives them hope. Hope that there is another season, one of milder inclement, and warmer evenings in front of a pastel sun. Glory!

The waft of hickory smoke came my way, whilst I was frolicking in my patch of grass. A gentle reminder that the pit was probably ready now for supper. That other tasks were on hand, besides admiring a plot of sod. Cheeseburgers!  Were taking it easy tonight, nothing grandiose or elaborate, but like a sunny patch of grass after a winter eternal, delightful, none-the-less.

IMG_72501

Three portly third-pounders hit the hot cast iron grate with a trademark sizzle. I had some hickory wood on the coals too, just for good measure. For seasonings tonight we used a liberal dose of Famous Dave’s Steak & Burger Seasoning, a tasty pantheon of flavor concocted by local BBQ genius, Famous Dave Anderson. It’s pretty good on any cut of beef, burgers in particular. We cooked the burgers in-direct the entire time.

IMG_48771

Putting the burgers opposite the hot coals does a couple of things really well. One, it cooks them a little slower. Pit keepers as a rule are never in a hurry, less entombed in heady throes of competitive BBQ. But indirect cooking, like we’re doing tonight, first thwarts the odds of morphing your plunder into blackened rubble, and thus gives the wood smoke more time to do its high magic. Slowing down via in-direct cooking also gives a person covetous slots of time in which to take up the proper BBQ posture, pit-side,  feet propped up, hat tilted just so, left leg crossed over right, with a manly beverage close at hand. These are the moments we grill jockeys live for. Moments where we can study the coals, and watch the smoke curl. Admire the interesting cloud shapes as they parade over-head. Listen to the tweety birds and feel the gentle breeze on our face. A time at last we can be still, and just watch the world spin. And how yonder, the golden sun falls upon a lone patch of grass. The simple things to be sure. And every one of them, patron to the pit. Amen.

IMG_34011

39 responses

  1. fabianalvareza

    Reblogged this on Fabián.

    March 27, 2014 at 10:39 am

  2. Simple things like cheeseburgers often produce big results. Great photos too!

    March 27, 2014 at 10:42 am

  3. No way – I can’t wait on a burger long enough to go in-direct. Straight on the flame baby!! But, yours looked really good – love the toasted bun!

    March 27, 2014 at 10:51 am

    • Ah the young and the restless. It is hard to wait on a burger sometimes. Understandable indeed. Thanks Kate!

      March 27, 2014 at 12:59 pm

  4. Oh my gravy on my two scoops rice (that’s OMG! in my world 😉 ) … this is the third blogger I’ve read that had cheeseburgers last night… US TOO!! I added BACON & Hatch New Mexico green chilis on top of our beauties and washed ’em down with a beer or two… Ice Cream Sundaes all-around for dessert. MMM! ALOHA!

    March 27, 2014 at 11:03 am

  5. an interesting narrative on a cheeseburger in an alternative paradise – but as Dorothy said, “There’s no place like home.” As long there is a grill there!

    March 27, 2014 at 11:06 am

    • I love your comments, Joel. Always makes me smile. Thanks kindly for checking in. Grill on!

      March 27, 2014 at 12:43 pm

  6. I’ve been mowing my grass now for about three weeks. But oh how I can relate to the jubilance of seeing your grass and the first signs of spring!

    March 27, 2014 at 11:22 am

    • Ah yes, grass sightings are a universal pleasure at some latitudes. Wow you’ve been mowing for three weeks already! I think we still have ten inches of ice on the lakes around here. Crazy.

      March 27, 2014 at 12:42 pm

      • And that is why I live in Western Washington State. We had about 4 inches of snow that lasted for about two days. Sorry, that has been our snow for the winter.

        March 28, 2014 at 12:17 am

  7. Debbie Spivey

    Yahoo for the grass sighting!! So ready for spring, but if I had a good looking cheeseburger like that right now, I wouldn’t care what season it is!

    March 27, 2014 at 12:10 pm

    • I know it. Spring is a welcome thing right now. Most everyone I know is ready for it. Thanks Much!

      March 27, 2014 at 12:40 pm

  8. I’d almost kill for grass… but I’ve got my patio all shoveled off and clear so it’s a start!!! Great pictures and the burgers look killer as always!

    Cheers!
    Brian

    March 27, 2014 at 12:46 pm

    • I can relate there. Seems I had to shovel the patio two or three times a week all winter. A pit keeper has to do what he has to do I guess.

      Thanks Brian!

      March 27, 2014 at 1:25 pm

  9. They can stick Macca’s. P.O.P hamburgers RULE!

    March 27, 2014 at 6:38 pm

  10. I have to confess that I read your posts for totally selfish reasons. I get a high octane ‘buzz’ which comes from me lapping up that entertaining combination of words and images. But I am now wondering if your unique style is actually triggered by snow induced madness. Do I have to worry?
    Great post, great burger. Karen.

    March 28, 2014 at 3:00 am

    • Well thank you, Karen. Style from snow induced madness you query? No, don’t think so. I’m pretty much like this year-around. Tho, I do feel more inspired in the winter season. But no, I don’t wager you’ll need to worry…yet. It just snowed again last night. Crikies!

      Take care!
      -Potp

      March 28, 2014 at 10:28 am

  11. It is hard to beat a simple cheeseburger and this one is no exception! While I do enjoy the occasional indirect / smoke kissed burger, what I really love is the crispy outside crust of a burger seared over high heat, licked by flame. Great job and excellent post, as always!

    March 28, 2014 at 3:53 am

    • Thank you sir! Yeah, I like the crispy crust burgers too. Love the textures in those. Some days tho I’m in the mood to mosey, and this cook was one of them. No hurries. Its all good off the grill.

      Take care mate!
      -Potp

      March 28, 2014 at 10:25 am

  12. I feel for you, my brother! I can remember almost willing the trees along the bike trail to bud out – and then, when they finally did – Spring burst on the scene and life was good again in Minnesota. Hang in there and soon the news weathermen will be complaining about the heat index.

    March 28, 2014 at 11:31 am

    • Ah thanks for your sympathy, John, I know you’ve been there before! As I was mentioning to another reader, I do rather fancy winter anyways, even if it does last half the year long. And the reason why is it seems to up one’s capacity to appreciate spring. I do admire your life in the tropics, but I think after a while I would miss the snow. But then I’m weird like that.

      It snowed again last night. There is ice on my driveway. Twins outdoor baseball starts in a week!

      March 28, 2014 at 2:13 pm

  13. boomapablo

    Looking good as always

    March 28, 2014 at 7:00 pm

  14. Followed & on my blog roll!

    March 28, 2014 at 7:24 pm

  15. Very nice burger. I have been thinking about making a perfectly seasoned burger on the grill. You may have just pushed me off the cliff. Off to the butcher…

    March 29, 2014 at 8:36 am

  16. I guess you guys don’t want to hear the smell of orange blossoms in our area was almost overwhelming. We’ve had bougainvillea blooming all winter. Sucks to be us. But on the other hand, your burgers look fabulous!

    March 29, 2014 at 5:32 pm

  17. This is so beautifully written. I was drooling all the way through it… but half because my eyes kept drifting to those gorgeously grilled burger patties. YUM. It’s autumn here so I am watching the leaves drop off the trees rather than the other way around, but I am glad that you’re finally getting some spring greenery! Yay for the pending summer barbecues, t-shirts and fresh fruits!

    March 30, 2014 at 10:50 am

    • Thank you kindly, Laura, appreciate that.
      Yes be happy for us northern northern-hemisphere folk. We need to see green soon, lest people start going nuts.

      Fresh fruit…Golly!

      March 31, 2014 at 8:53 am

  18. Liz

    yes to the green grass and spring and grilled food–yay yay yay yay! We even grilled pork chops this weekend. Felt soooooo good.

    March 30, 2014 at 10:54 pm

    • Ah yes, let the fair weather cooking begin! We earned some good weather, I think. What a winter.

      Thank you Liz. Have a great week!

      March 31, 2014 at 8:50 am

  19. Loved reading the coming of spring. I live across the river here in western wisconsin and have been waiting for the snow to melt. Sunday night was a beautiful night for grilling. My choice was planked burgers on the grill. My burgers were planked on Butternut sawn from a tree on my property. I topped the burgers with an avocado and homemade salsa. Here’s to the grass getting greener!

    April 1, 2014 at 7:17 am

    • Well done! That sounds amazing. Love planking burgers. Well, point of fact, I love planking just about anything. Such a great way to grill.

      Was just in Wisconsin on Sunday, plying some trout waters there. They must of heard I like to plank things, and stayed clear of my hook!

      April 1, 2014 at 9:28 am

  20. Reblogged this on dollcoronel.

    April 3, 2014 at 12:12 pm

Leave a Reply

