Two Men, Two Pits and a Blog

Sweet and Smokey: Maple Glazed Pork Chops

It is with great adoration, yet reserved applause, that this Minnesotan declares the arrival of Spring. I came out of my hole the other day, and I saw my shadow, so that IMG_86791must mean something I figure.  I have seen motorcycles too, whizzing up and down the local roadways. Golfers milling through the local foliage in search of wayward shots. The turdus americanus is also in town, hopping about the semi-green grass in search, I suppose, of a good worm or two. I have noted likewise, that the ice has dissolved off the local lakes and waterways, and people of generally good ilk are walking to their mail boxes with out the aid of down parkas or thermal underwear. Things are looking up in other words! And just below it all, quivering in the trees and bushes, in the brown fields and winding stream banks, is that once upon a time and long ago lost color that is green. Chlorophyll! Glorious galleys of green chlorophyll. And it tingles and aches, leashed by a solar clock, waiting patiently to explode.

On the pit tonight, a house favorite. Hickory smoke pork chops with a maple glaze. They’re real easy to do too, so let’s get after it.

IMG_26391

These bone-in chops came smoked right out of the package, and I swear smelled good enough to eat right there, but like any pit keeper worth his tongs, we’re going to double smoke the chops on the old kettle grill. Oh yes!  Placing them opposite a good bed of mature coals, with a few small chunks of hickory wood added to the fire, we were ready for action. We lightly sprinkled the chops in garlic and onion salt, and placed the old, black enameled lid on, tweaked the damper, and caught the draft. Soon aromatic plumes of hickory smoke mingled about the patio, signifying to thee yet another pit session in progress. I was about to assume the proper BBQ posture in the pit-side man chair, but a maple glaze needs to be made, and such things don’t make themselves you know. Here is how to do the glaze.

Maple Glaze

  • 3/4 Maple Syrup
  • 2 Tablespoons Brown Sugar
  • 2 Tablespoons Ketchup
  • 2 Tablespoons Mustard
  • 1 Tablespoons Worcestershire Sauce

Stir it all together and bring to a boil. Then remove from heat.

IMG_21791

 

With about ten minutes left in the cook, we varnished on the maple glaze, with greater Picasso-like brush strokes. You’ll want to stay mindful here, making sure your chops are indirect still, for the sugars in the glaze can get burned easier than a kindly old grandma in a used car lot. Be good to your chops, people, and unto your grandmas too! Keep the hickory smoke wafting, and repeatedly brush on the glaze, frequently flipping the chops. Open up the bottom damper, and get the heat up if you can, for to caramelize your spoils aside a hemorrhaging bed of coals.

I pulled the man chair up close to the pit, tongs still hand, and tarried there a spell, like pit keepers do. The aromas of smokey pork mingle with the freshened, April breeze. I leaned back, left leg crossed over right, and mused over the cottony clouds parading over head. It’s been a while since I’ve been able to do this. To loiter pit-side and watch the clouds go by, that is with out fusing my hind-end to a subzero, ice-encrusted patio chair. Outdoor leisure only operates for so long when the temperatures court that of a Popsicle factory. But today was different. No jacket needed. And the sun tarried aloft more than adequately to see to cook by. Mallards chortled out on the pond. Blue Jays darted to and fro. And the sweet aromas of perfectly executed pork wafted in the air. I smiled to myself. I could sit here all day, just watching the world spin, and I might have iffin I weren’t so hungry right now.  Our supper is done. Lets plate up these chops, and commence to doing what men do best – stuffing face!

IMG_21841 (1)

Maple Glazed Hickory Smoked Pork Chops hot off the grill. A delightful blend of sweet and smokey meat sure to take your belly straight to church! Man!

 

20 responses

  1. That’s a really nice dish, my husband is getting hungry right now!!! 🙂

    April 24, 2014 at 9:57 am

  2. Donald Smolik

    Looks great!
    I like to give my chops a quick dip in Soy Sauce right before I put them on the grill. Gives them a nice flavor.

    April 24, 2014 at 11:31 am

  3. Lord, I am a sucker for pork, and those look sinful!

    April 24, 2014 at 12:00 pm

  4. AgileWriter

    Amazing….
    Do try the sweet and sour pork:-
    http://bit.ly/1jYRUQd

    April 25, 2014 at 8:50 am

  5. Excellent post! Have never tried pork chops before. I don’t usually eat them… As a child, my mother had a habit of turning them into hockey pucks… I think she ruined me LOL. Yours, as usual, look fantastic… I’ll have to give them a try!

    April 25, 2014 at 3:34 pm

    • Thanks much. Yes, it might take a proper chop, sounds like, to undo your previous introductions to the venerable pork chop. They really can be good. Honest!

      Take care good sir.

      April 27, 2014 at 6:54 pm

  6. Reblogged this on yzenithcorp and commented:
    Are You looking For Authentic Chinese Food Recipes?
    http://www.yzenith.com

    April 25, 2014 at 4:21 pm

  7. Smoked pork chops on the grill are a favorite. Unfortunately, the Mrs. does not like maple. But she does like bourbon maple glaze. Go figure. I’ll have to give this a shot. Thanks for the idea PoftP. Did you share with the turdus americanus?

    April 26, 2014 at 7:58 am

    • Thanks Bill. Yeah sometimes the womens don’t make all that much sense do they? But we love them any how. And no, I didn’t share with the turdus americanus. Nor do I hope he shares his suppers with me. We’ll get along that way.

      Take care, Bill!

      April 27, 2014 at 6:50 pm

  8. Liz

    that looks LOVELY. And I’m all over a glaze with only five ingredients. Pork chops usually only get salt and pepper on my watch, so it’s good to have another flavor option. Absolutely hats off and here’s to spring. We’ve been waiting!

    April 27, 2014 at 11:13 am

    • Thanks kindly Liz. We’ve been enjoying the arrival of spring like weather indeed. In point of fact, road tripping was in order. Ate breakfast at the Duluth Grill this morning. Delicious as usual. I do fancy that place.

      Take care
      POTP

      April 27, 2014 at 6:47 pm

  9. Yummy thanks for sharing….

    April 28, 2014 at 1:11 am

  10. AgileWriter

    Seems yummy..
    Do try sweet and sour pork chops with pineapple!!!
    http://bit.ly/1jYRUQd

    April 30, 2014 at 4:12 am

  11. Ahhhh looks so good. Do you do much grilling in the winter or is it very sporadic?

    May 20, 2014 at 12:29 am

    • Thanks kindly. Yes, we fire up the pit one or two times a week, year around, in Minnesota no less. It’s fun!

      May 20, 2014 at 8:59 am

      • Awesome! I do love me some BBQ and will keep an eye on your blog!

        May 20, 2014 at 2:41 pm

Leave a Reply

