Two Men, Two Pits and a Blog

Sorry, I Ate My Own Homework

Dearest Subscriber,

It was our loftiest intention to bring to you a choice morsel of grilling immortality this week, but the truth is, I ate it. Oh it was, shall we say, a beautiful T-Bone steak, bountiful in mass, and juicy, seared then grilled unto utter perfection over a hemorrhaging bed of hard wood coals. Indeed it was I guess. Lightly seasoned in onion and garlic, and not a shade less than meat utopia on a bone, and I ate it all. Prematurely launching into its savory flesh like a dingo to a bull frog.  I did not possess the mental faculty to pause even, and take a picture for you. Nor to document the endeavor in due respect. The zeal ran high and the patience thin, you might say, where the wood smoke gently curled. And by the time I plated up, it was already too late. You must understand that it was a feverish, man-versus-meat scenario. Simultaneously disgusting yet wonderful. An event where instincts were to take over, and all manners cast over the flannel-clad shoulder. There was grunting, growling and belching involved. The heady sounds of incisors ripping into red meat. Bits of grizzled fat flipping headlong through the air. Long, ghastly stares from my bride. Oh it was good people. And I ate every bit of it.

Thus, I have nothing to show you this time around but a singly savaged T-bone on a bare ceramic plate, laying prostrate in its own juices. What can I say.  The steak was there. I was there.  It was mutual I think.  Some days are like that I guess. Some days we eat our homework. Aw well.

Grill On!

-PotP

IMG_2226

 

37 responses

  1. The remains tell their story… 🙂

    It happens like that, I find a wine to write about and all I have to show is an empty bottle…

    AV

    May 1, 2014 at 10:36 am

  2. LOL At least you enjoyed! 🙂

    May 1, 2014 at 11:22 am

  3. I mean you’re looking for excuses?
    Nada, nope, none!
    Don’t ever do this again!
    Pretty please?!☺

    May 1, 2014 at 11:30 am

    • I cannot promise there will be no more relapses of this sort with big hunks of meat. Indeed the belly is bigger than the brain.

      May 1, 2014 at 12:23 pm

  4. I love this. It takes everything I have to keep my ravenous diners away from dinner before I snap a few shots. BTW – I can still see the glisten of juice/fat running down your chin.

    May 1, 2014 at 12:41 pm

  5. Okay, I’m sorry, but this post was totally awesome!

    May 1, 2014 at 1:38 pm

  6. Nick Trandahl

    Great post! Sometimes the detritus left behind is the best message that can be made about a delicious meal. You came, you saw, you conquered.

    May 1, 2014 at 2:33 pm

    • Nicely put, Nick. An obituary for a steak! Well not quite. But kind of!

      Thanks Nick!

      May 1, 2014 at 2:39 pm

  7. LOL, totally understandable. How can you wait to photograph, must eat hot off the grill. That looks like it was a formidable piece of meat. YUM!

    May 1, 2014 at 4:47 pm

    • Yes, some meat is simply not going to make it to blog worthy status. This one just missed it. But then I thought the absence of it rather said it all. Anyways, thanks kindly!

      May 1, 2014 at 5:29 pm

  8. Hmm, I saw a little piece of gristle still on the bone. Very clever, PotP raise our desires, tell us all about it then leave us hanging over the keyboard. It’s lucky I’ve just eaten breakfast but I am having steak for lunch. 🙂

    May 1, 2014 at 5:09 pm

    • Haha, oh the vicious games between men and meat. Hope you got that steak, Laurie! Thanks!

      May 1, 2014 at 5:40 pm

      • Oh I’ll get it, it can’t run now. 🙂

        May 1, 2014 at 7:48 pm

  9. Every picture tells a story. Looks like it was an enormous hunk of meat. It certainly caught my attention. Now you’ve done it I’m craving an Italian style Bistecca Fiorentina. A true caveman sized t bone steak.

    May 1, 2014 at 5:45 pm

  10. Liz

    We had neighbors over tonight for grilled t-bones! Even the salvaged bones look wonderful. I think it’s fine to take a break from snapping photos of food. Sometimes you need to just enjoy your meal.

    May 1, 2014 at 10:36 pm

    • No kidding! A T-Bone coincidence? I don’t think so!

      Agreed sometimes a feller needs to put the camera aside and just eat his supper. Amen. Thanks Liz!

      May 2, 2014 at 2:31 pm

  11. YAY! Love me a good piece of BEEF! ALOHA POTP!

    May 1, 2014 at 11:20 pm

  12. The best part of eating bone in meat is picking the bone clean. Looks like you missed some… 😉

    May 2, 2014 at 6:02 am

    • I did indeed. And absolutely. I could gnaw on a bone for hours on end and be content I think. Like a dog would. A man pacifier!

      May 2, 2014 at 9:05 am

  13. ‘a beautiful T-Bone steak, bountiful in mass, and juicy, seared then grilled unto utter perfection’ Sounds like a pretty good reason to have demolished it without a by or leave. This member of the jury finds that you have no charges to answer.

    May 2, 2014 at 6:32 am

    • It was good Adam, real good. I knew you’d understand! Thanks much!

      May 2, 2014 at 9:01 am

  14. Looks like you missed some!

    May 2, 2014 at 6:38 pm

    • I know I did. Maybe I can grab I back out of the trash!

      Good to hear from you!

      May 2, 2014 at 6:44 pm

  15. Been there, done that. Lol

    May 4, 2014 at 7:24 pm

  16. Debbie Spivey

    It happens… 😉

    May 4, 2014 at 7:25 pm

  17. the mere fact you could not wait to take a photo speaks volumes of its deliciousness

    May 7, 2014 at 4:35 am

  18. Savage !!!

    May 7, 2014 at 3:09 pm

Leave a Reply

