Two Men, Two Pits and a Blog

My Meat Department Tabloid

For the love of cow craft, and general meat knowledge, here is a little shout out to one of our readers, a man privy to many a back story in the meat industry. He is articulate, witty, and I think an all-around great dude. And if you’re into senior humor, (and one day hopefully you’ll have to be), you ought to check out some more of his writings at http://richardmax22.wordpress.com.

Here then is his insightful write-up on things you may or may not know about the meat you eat and the heady antics behind the scene.

Good Grillin’
-Potp

Rest in Peace, Rick

richardmax22

I was raised in the meat business. My father had a slaughter-house and meat cutting and packing plant that I worked for several years when not in school. After being discharged from the military I worked in the logging industry for 18 years. When that company shut down and we were all laid off, I decided to get back into meat cutting and purchased a meat market which I owned for 14 years. I also worked a couple of years cutting meat in a Piggly Wiggly store. Bottom line, I do know something about cuts of meat, and will share a few facts one might find interesting.

1. What makes some beef tender or tough? There are two factors. One is which part of the animal the meat is coming from. The more muscled the meat, the tougher it will be. So the parts of the animal most heavily used from day-to-day are going to be the tougher cuts. For instance the…

View original post 1,075 more words

10 responses

  1. Great post, very informative and much of it I didn’t know. he is a gem. Thanks for introducing Richard.

    June 13, 2014 at 8:58 pm

  2. I thought so too!

    June 13, 2014 at 9:21 pm

  3. Always great to know where your meat comes from. 🙂 Rick’s a funny guy.
    Cheer
    Laurie.

    June 14, 2014 at 3:19 am

    • Truth. Yes I have a good time reading through his blog.

      Thanks Laurie!

      June 15, 2014 at 6:11 pm

  4. Thanks for the information! That answered a lot of questions I have always had about beef.

    June 14, 2014 at 5:41 pm

  5. A modern day Upton Sinclair. Thanks for the lead on the link PotP!

    June 16, 2014 at 6:35 pm

Leave a Reply

