Two Men, Two Pits and a Blog

The Gift of Warmth: Ginger Orange Pork Chops & Bone Suckin’ Thighs

Bequeathed a winter’s reprieve, we have certainly been making good use of it these latter days. Now I know it is no secret that you folks in Texas and Ecuador have been IMG_5890slathering on your SPF 50 suntan lotion for several months running, but let it be said, tho I admit thermally pathetic, things are just now greening up here in on the 45th parallel. Glory be to the tweety birds who have come on the wing from afar, only to crap on my freshly waxed car, and sing forth at the top of their little lungs, like they had nothing else in the world to do. But I don’t mind none, because it is warm again. That great glowing orb in the sky, hark, I can feel it’s blessed heat against my face again, or on the back of my neck whence out on evening paddles. Kayaks slipping quietly over golden waters, the rhythm of dipping blades, and the re-acquaintanceship with the noble feeling of genuine warmth. Very nice. It’s been a long time since I’ve been warm at the terminus of a sunbeam. And what a privilege it is.

Likewise a privilege to grill out-of-doors in the acute absence of cold. My but this could spoil a fellow. Why I didn’t even need my mittens or mukluks this go around at the pit. All the ice and snow are gone now. And the grass is green. The clouds puffy and white, idling past just for me. I know this sounds kind of silly and all, but until you’ve spent half a year embedded in a glacier, you just won’t understand. We Minnesotan’s are keen to the simple pleasures of Spring, you see. We crave it. Anyways, here is what we have going on the pit today. I think you’re going to like it.

IMG_5897

Your basic chops and chicken thighs, that which reside over a beautiful bed of coals, augmented by a little hickory wood for good measure.

IMG_5894

 

We dusted over the thighs with a fair smattering of Bone Suckin’ Sauce Seasoning. I admit, I was smitten for its name. Who wouldn’t be. It wooed me from the spice shelf of the local shop keeper, and I knew it would soon enough be mine. I would have my way with it courtesy of a willing chicken thigh, roasted keenly over a bed of orange-glowing coals.

IMG_5902

Plunking on the black enameled lid of the old kettle grill, positioning the vent over the protein, all was set as the draft soon engaged, sending pillars of blue-tinted hickory smoke up into a sweet, Minnesota sky. I leaned back in my BBQ man chair, lovely beverage in hand, left leg crossed over right, and mused for moment over the simple joys of grilling outside on a beautiful spring eve. The warmth of the day still curled around me, like an old flannel shirt. And amid the Cottonwoods aglow in the evening sun, song birds lit and serenaded there, the timely melodies for to grace the ears of their betrothed. The breeze so gentle and so kind, tinted in Lilac and apple blossom, for a moment I cannot divine a finer scenario in which to cook one’s supper, than upon the shoulders of this new season at the pit. This is living!

IMG_5904

Alright then. So to finish up the plunder here, we varnished the meat over with some of this stuff. Ginger Orange Grilling Sauce. It has a subtle Asian flare about it that we really like. A little something to change-up the flavor profile when you’re a little tired of traditional BBQ sauce. Says right on the bottle it’s good on pork and chicken. So we slopped it on both. And we’re here to tell you, they were right. Man what utter succulence from the pit tonight! And what an honor to do so in the warm shafts of a golden sun, where the wood smoke gently rises. Amen.

IMG_5910

Hickory Tinted, Bone Sucking, Orange Ginger Chops and Thighs. Mercy! You get all that? Good eating, and good times, patron to the pit.

32 responses

  1. Oh man, two of my favorite things to smoke and grill are pork chops (called chuletas here) and chicken thighs (muslo de pollo) and you have them both in one picture! Thank you for insuring that my dreams tonight will be pleasant.

    As a former Minnesotan, I feel your joy of Spring springing and hope all is well with your and yours (especially the women-folk) on this Mother’s Day weekend. Eat well!

    May 7, 2015 at 9:19 pm

    • Thank you kindly, John. Yes, tho your tropical environs have softened you somewhat, I still believe you know the joy of a Minnesota spring. You’ve been there and done that!

      The women folk are wonderful, and will be eating well this weekend.

      Take care mate !

      May 7, 2015 at 9:49 pm

  2. 43 south, Ron Duke

    G’day, I hope you are well. It is nice to feel that springtime warmth after a long winter. I too know this as I spent my early years in Chicago. brrrr.
    As you know we are the other side, 43 south, and we had our first snow yesterday.
    Thank you for the chicken idea, we too are having chicken tonight just a little simpler, on the Weber with just a hint of smokey goodness.
    Have a great weekend.
    Cheers

    Ron

    May 7, 2015 at 10:07 pm

    • Sounds lovely, Ron. And thank you. Good to hear you’re still grilling after the first snow. Proud of you mate! And once upon a time you lived in Chicago you say? Wow. Who would have guessed!

      Happy weekend to you likewise, good sir.
      Take care

      POTP

      May 7, 2015 at 10:21 pm

  3. I would devour these! I love ginger, so I know that the orange would just send it over the top! You have also made me want to go canoeing worse than I already did. I am so ready for summer! Happy Grilling POTP!!

    May 8, 2015 at 6:41 am

    • Thanks Debbie! Yeah ginger is one of the great ingredients of our time. It can do so much, and lo, tastes great too. Bring on the summer and the paddle ways!

      Did you have a good trip to Chicago was it?

      May 8, 2015 at 9:43 am

      • Great trip! Cold, but no rain after we first landed. I posted about Day 1 if you’d like to take a peek. I will be posting about Day 2 soon! 🙂

        May 8, 2015 at 12:11 pm

  4. Yummy, I love the ginger and citrus blend! And I’m glad that your getting to enjoy the rays of sunshine!

    May 8, 2015 at 8:19 am

    • Thanks Kate. Yeah the sauce was pretty darn good. Definitely one I would use again. Reminded me of Asian BBQ. Really good. My bride picked it up at Target the other day and declared her love for it. She was right.

      May 8, 2015 at 9:46 am

  5. I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again… great minds think alike … https://mykitcheninthemiddleofthedesert.wordpress.com/2015/05/08/another-atk-recipe-baby-back-ribs/
    ALOHA!

    May 8, 2015 at 1:39 pm

  6. This looks amazing! Can’t wait to try it this summer!

    May 8, 2015 at 2:24 pm

  7. At least the birds didn’t crap on your smoker. 🙂 You blokes come up with the best recipes.
    Cheers
    Laurie.

    May 8, 2015 at 5:34 pm

    • Bird crap on your smoker is the ultimate insult upon a pit keeper’s craft, leastwise when he’s smoking bird under the lid. Somehow they know…

      May 8, 2015 at 11:46 pm

      • I agree, i think they know and revel in what they can deposit. Riding my Goldwing to work one day, I always wore an open face helmet. I saw a large Stork take off from a pond to my right, the next thing, SPLAT! About a large handful of bird crap straight in the face. It tasted like crap and sardines and smelled woeful. 😦 I came real close to shaving the mustache off.

        May 9, 2015 at 12:23 am

      • Note to self: Never ride a motorcycle with your mouth open!

        May 9, 2015 at 12:28 am

      • Never!

        May 9, 2015 at 4:21 am

  8. I love the simplicity of your grillin’ style and the rhapsody of your words.

    May 8, 2015 at 8:52 pm

  9. tks for sharing 🙂

    May 8, 2015 at 11:55 pm

  10. Ahhhh how sweet it is to finally be able to begin a cook with the simple words “son light the chimney starter” and not “son give me a hand shoveling the Webers out.”

    May 22, 2015 at 8:04 am

    • You speak the truth, Mr Dodd. The mild season is at last upon us. And the year around pit keeper doesn’t take it for granted!

      May 22, 2015 at 9:44 am

  11. Greetings my Smokie Brutha 🙂
    Another good read, to be sure!
    I’m inspired to tell you of one of my recent faves … “Asian Zing” wing sauce from Buffalo Wild Wing.
    They sell all their in-house sauces at their restaurant locations and … if you have one close by, DO go in a buy a bottle of this stuff. I put that sh*t on EVERYTHING!!
    Slightly sweet, with just enough heat that there’s no need to call your lawyer … 🙂
    Amen indeed … stay hungry friend !!

    May 22, 2015 at 10:59 am

    • Oh I think I’ve had that stuff before. Or leastwise I do recognize the name. We have a BWW right up the road, of which I frequent on occasion. I will make a point of it to check out this sauce then, per your good recommendation.

      Many thanks, man. Have a great weekend!

      May 22, 2015 at 2:58 pm

  12. Yum!! Can’t go wrong with citrus marinades!!

    June 2, 2015 at 7:45 pm

    • You speak the truth!

      June 3, 2015 at 3:40 pm

      • You’re quite lucky to have outside space to barbeque.. Here in London, the space is terrible.. Concrete and more concrete springs to mind! Lol!

        June 3, 2015 at 3:49 pm

      • Oh man, what sort of misery have you described here! Oh well, you can still barbecue on concrete. Probably safer in fact. Once the food is in your belly, well, good is good.

        June 4, 2015 at 9:51 am

      • Hahaha!!

        June 4, 2015 at 10:03 am

Leave a Reply

