Two Men, Two Pits and a Blog

In Honor of Heroes: Memorial Day Pulled Pork

The Lilacs are blooming on Mt. Moriah. 

SAMSUNG CSCGreetings dear readership, and brethren of the smoke. We’ve been on vacation as of late, and I won’t deny it’s been a rather lovely sortie away from the digital trenches. A routine of which, if I am not careful on the matter,  I suspect that I could get quite used to. We’re talking life on the road here. Seeing new sights every day. Meeting interesting people. And that hallowed feeling of putting a great many miles between you and the home front. It’s nice, and a wee bit intoxicating to the spirit. But alas, we are home now, and well-traveled. We have some good vittles outback on the smoker, too, but before we get to that,  I’d fancy to show you something we discovered out way of the Black Hills. Something I thought it was kind of cool, and maybe you will too.

We were in the small Cowboy Hamlet better known as Deadwood, SD. Strolling up the main street there, which if there ever was a main street in this world that begs to be strolled, this perhaps was it. We made the usual token rounds: We saw the Celebrity Hotel where Brad Pitt’s slippers from Spy Games were on display. We went in the ice cream shop hoping for a double scoop of Rocky Road, but no one was around to harvest our currency. So we sidled out the door – scoopless. We also poked our head in the bar where Wild Bill Hickok was shot, thought about it for a while, then left. You know, the usual Deadwood flybys. Then, after the formalities were over, we found ourselves up on a hill, on Mt Moriah to be exact, in a cemetery there overlooking the town. It was a quaint place, by and by, that is if cemeteries can register as quaint. The lilacs were fragrant, and the grass was green. And it was up there that I saw the flag.

SAMSUNG CSC

The American flag hung limply on it’s pole, back-dropped by a blue, South Dakotan sky. I guess it wasn’t so much the flag, there, waving over Deadwood that captured my attention. It was more the plaque residing just below it, and the words it forever held there.

SAMSUNG CSC

Here is a flag, if you read the plaque, that is always up. Every day. Twenty and four hours a day. Never in our lifetime to see a half-mast. Never to forget our brave soldiers in battle, nor their selfless trials endured for the sake of our country. It’s been flapping in the sky over Deadwood for a long time now, since WWI it says,  as stalwart, and as true, as the veterans it honors. I don’t know about you folks, but I thought that was pretty cool. In a day and age where so many flags seem perpetually stuck half-way up the pole, here is one that at last resists. And that is no small thing amid the pine-scented breezes of Mt Moriah.

Anyways, that is what I wanted to show you. Something we saw in our travels afield. Now out to the pit!

The Joy of Bark

SAMSUNG CSC

It was Memorial Weekend, and as you can see we had some fine eating coming to maturity pit-side. A humble little pork shoulder, or butt if you must, one of which needed only 6 hours on the smoker, courtesy of it’s wee size. I think it was only 5 or 6 pounds, boneless, and nary fraction shy of utter succulence. This photo was snapped near the end of the cook, and my oh my, take a look at that bark. Glory be!

Bark. It’s what every pit jockey secretly strives for. That hallowed offspring of seasoning and smoke, and of heat and meat. The magical effects of bark cannot be understated, nor I think, adequately even explained. Just trust us when we say, you want bark. Yes, to the uninitiated, it might resemble something more of a meteorite that landed in your back yard. Likewise, lift the lid of the pit housing a well-barked butt, and the newbies about will at once moan your name in vain, declaring it a grievous loss. This is common place. You always have to reassure them that it’s alright. It’s just bark.

When you pull your pulled pork, which is usually appropriate anywhere from 195 to 203 internal, you always want to evenly distribute plenty of bark amongst the meat. The best pulled pork sandwiches have a little bark in every bite. And we have found if you foil your butts like many pit masters like to do, that the practice can sometimes lend to a lesser bark. So if you want a robust bark, let your pork shoulder ride “nekkid” the whole way. That’s just our opinion, but it seems to be the case.

Another tip for good bark is to use a mustard slather first thing, before you apply your rub. The mustard acts purely as an adhesive agent for your spices. The more rub you can get to stick, the better the bark. And no, the mustard flavor will not register on your tongue. I don’t know why, nor do I try to analyze it. It’s just one of the enduring mysteries of the BBQ Arts. Our rub we used this smoke, Maynards Memphis Rub, was from the kindly spice wizards at Miners Mix. We’ve used it on a lot of stuff now, and pork may be it’s strongest suit. Man! Very tasty! Oh, and our smoke wood this time was hickory and apple.

SAMSUNG CSC

After letting the meat rest, whilst tented in aluminum foil, we pulled the tender and most succulent pork muscles into savory tendrils of perfectly smoked pork. Mixing that all important bark in through-out the sandwich. This is authentic BBQ, people. The real thing. I’m sorry, but your all-beef wieners will just have to take a back seat today. That’s just how it goes.

Before We Devour

I try to give thanks to the Good Lord more at meals these days. Just because. Because it’s the right thing to do, I suppose. Thanks for family, and for health, and for good food, like slow-smoked, pulled pork sandwiches. Not to mention just the privilege of just getting to BBQ in the first place, in a country that is free to do such things. Indeed, much to be thankful for. And as I cast a glance out the patio door , and see the smoker out there still curling faint, blue, wisps of smoke, I cannot help to but to give thanks also for the military men and women who have served, and still serve our country. You will always be our heroes. And always have our respect. And I think of the American flag flying stoically atop Mt. Moriah, and the beautiful fragrance of the lilacs which bloom there. Amen.

 

 

12 responses

  1. Well said. And I’m sure well fed. Cheers!

    June 9, 2016 at 4:51 pm

  2. Amen!

    June 9, 2016 at 8:56 pm

  3. I’m glad we both enjoyed a delightful pulled pork sandwich for Mem Day. I think next time I will give your mustard slather a try. I haven’t had any problems with rub adherence, but I’m curious if I will notice a difference. Well written, as always. Cheers.

    June 9, 2016 at 11:06 pm

    • Thanks Todd. Yeah, where I notice the mustard slather difference is in the bark. It might be just me, but it seems thicker and more pronounced when a slather is involved. Some times I do it, and other times I don’t. At the end of the day tho, good is good, and BBQ is always good, slather or not.

      I too enjoyed our digital communal smoke on Memorial Day. It was cool to ponder that we both were watching the smoke curl at the same time, with similar cuts of meat, on a beautiful day. The Heavy Metal Pit and the Pond Side Pit were in sync that day, so to say.

      Carry on sir!

      June 10, 2016 at 8:10 am

  4. Love the Flag, the bark, and yes so much to be thankful for. Sad to say the only thing we smoked lately were some smokey smores with the grand-kids. You raise the pit bar a good height and say it well.

    June 11, 2016 at 10:03 pm

    • Thank you , Gary. And smores with the grand children rank as fine as any brisket. Yes sir. Good times.

      June 12, 2016 at 9:46 am

  5. I have been too busy to get much done on the computer lately too. Many of the older unread emails found there way to the delete button as Mary and I plowed our way through the accumulated mass of information, but I kept your posts aside until I had the time to sit and enjoy your words of wisdom.

    I have two more of your posts yet to read, but I am sure I started with the right one for me this morning. Let’s hope that more and more people follow the deadwood lead and make a pledge to never let the flag go down in their hearts and minds. We need a place where our grandchildren will be able to smoke good meat with their grandkids in the home of the free.

    June 17, 2016 at 7:44 am

    • Well said, John in Ecuador. Well said. Indeed, I have noted your absence of late. I reckon sometimes even the retired life has its busy days. That’s OK tho. Anyways, welcome back to the digital circuit!

      June 17, 2016 at 12:06 pm

  6. Pingback: In Honor of Heroes: Memorial Day Pulled Pork | Patrons of the Pit

  7. Great post. I’m eager to follow your lead and head out on a road trip this summer. I hope to find such inspiring sights. Beautiful pork shoulder, too. I smoked a brisket today, and it made the family happy, so I’ve got that going for me. Cheers!

    May 28, 2017 at 8:57 pm

    • Thanks Todd. Ah yes, BBQ and travel. Two of my favorite things. With any luck, you will find a proper BBQ shack on your road trip this summer, and merge the two worlds into one, glorious, mind-bending moment of succulence and road tripping. Toss in a metal show and a 5 k run and you’ll be as happy as Todd can be! Good times.

      Happy Memorial Day belated!

      May 30, 2017 at 9:12 am

Leave a Reply

