Two Men, Two Pits and a Blog

The Super Bowl: No lights out on my BBQ!

afterfocus_1359991161859 The Super Bowl, a game that draws crowds together in front of TV’s across America. To bring families and friends together and carry on with banter of who might win the big game and discuss what their team should have done better that season. All while eating sloppy barbecued cuisines that make us men proud because we spent that afternoon over an open flame, a cloud of smoke and a bed of ash. Some areas of the country under a warm sun, in my part of the country it was spent in a warm winter jacket.

Though Kick Off might have started for most at prime time, it started for me around 12:30. A last-minute Super Bowl party was set in place and so I had to pull out all the last-minute calls. I had to be picky with the plays I was going to make and how I was running the ball, for I had only four and a half hours to come up with a menu. Game on!

My day started off with cutting chicken breasts into chicken tenders and giving them an hour bath in apple cider vinegar and apple juice. During that time I gathered my ingredients for the Carolina Mustard BBQ Sauce. BOOM… 1:30 exactly and my coals were nice and hot. Into the smoker they went, water pan filled and lid closed to heat up to the blessed 250 degrees. Back inside to prepare the North Carolina Coleslaw, a recipe from Steven Raichlen BBQ bible cook book. Hark, the clock hit 2 pm, 3 hours until my door bell starts to ring, chicken now hits the grill. The chicken was dusted with Grill Mates Apple Rub and was blasted with a heavy dose of mesquite wood smoke. The chimney of the smoker quickly puffed with a thick bellow of smoke and as the smoke rose, the snow quietly began to descend with big flakes turning my pit into the scene from a snow globe. AHHH…2:30, as much as I want to sit outside in my backyard wonderland, I’m on a time crunch and I have people to cook for.

The Carolina Mustard Sauce was fun to cook. I like doing sauces because I’m a sort of mad scientist when reading recipes. I rarely stick to the main recipe, and though I can’t take credit for the idea, I’ll post how I made it.

  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1 cup Ballpark Yellow Mustard
  • 3/4 cup firmly packed brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup distilled white wine vinegar
  • 1/4 cup of apple cider vinegar
  • 3/4 cup of orange organic blossom honey
  • Coarse salt (kosher or sea) to taste
  • Freshly ground black pepper to taste
  • 1/4 cup of apple juice
  • 1/8 teaspoon of horseradish

Bring to a simmer, turn to a low heat and let it simmer for about 5 min. Take it off the heat a settle until room temperature. This will last about 2 weeks in the fridge. Your house will become overwhelmed with the scent of mustard, but the taste is worth is. This one is great over pulled chicken and a great baste for ribs.

OH MAN…3:35, time to take the chicken off the smoke and put in a tin foil pan to speed up the cooking process. It’s a nice trick for doing pulled chicken in a crunch. After putting the chick in the pan, I gave it another splash of apple juice.

Clock check…3:45, Time for the slaw. Whisk in a large bowl mix…

  • 1/3 cup Dijon mustard
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 1/3 cup distilled white vinegar (I used apple Cider vinegar)
  • 2 teaspoon celery seeds
  • 5 tablespoons of mayo
  • Salt and freshly ground pepper

To speed things up I used pre-shredded cabbage, carrots and other junk for the slaw. Once everything is whisked together, pour it over the cabbage mix. Stir and chill.

Star Date 4:15…45 minutes until the doorbell goes nuts. Time to make the Caramel Fudge Sea Salt brownies! Ok, I will admit, I’m not good at baking. I won’t pretend either for the blogs sake. I went to the store, bought a box of mix, added eggs, oil and water and baked it as directed.

5pm and the brownies are pulled out of the oven. Let them cool for whatever time you want, pour on caramel and sprinkle on your desired amount of Sea Salt. I tend to be generous with it. It’s an amazing combination if you have never tried it.afterfocus_1359991423482

5:15 took the chicken off the smoker and began to pull. I poured out some of the greasy fat juice and replaced with more apple juice. Last, I finished it off with a good dusting of the Grill Mates Apple Rub.afterfocus_1359991244170

5:30…DING DONG… company arrived late. WHEW!

Though, I was a little bummed at the outcome of the game, MY game was on for the day. When everyone dove into the food that I had made, I felt that I chose the right plays. That’s right, I ran the ball at the exact time I needed too and the outcome was a victorious culinary win. I can only hope the rest of you enjoyed your day and evening as much as I did.afterfocus_1359991329969

Please, share any of your game day creations. We would love to hear!

22 responses

  1. Man! Everything sounds delicious!! I will have to try these recipes one day!

    February 4, 2013 at 1:34 pm

  2. Ohhhhhh! This looks so good!

    February 4, 2013 at 1:53 pm

  3. Truly lovin what you’re doing here. And your mad scientist styles; that’s how recipes should be treated. Kick ass!

    February 4, 2013 at 4:04 pm

    • I agree! Make it once the way it should be made, then…make it your’s!

      February 4, 2013 at 4:06 pm

  4. Looks awesome.

    February 4, 2013 at 6:48 pm

  5. AmyS

    That chicken looks delicious!

    February 4, 2013 at 8:28 pm

  6. Mesquite smoked chicken, I love it. I usually don’t use mesquite but for wings and chicken parts in general it’s spot on. That looks fantastic. Glad to hear it was a hit. I smoked some wings as well and put a buffalo mop on them – a big hit at our house.

    February 5, 2013 at 10:27 am

    • I enjoy mopping chicken more than anything. It’s just hard to do here in the winter. You open the smoker lid for more than 10 seconds and you drop 120 degrees. In the summer though, I mop almost everything. Glad you were able to get out and do some grilling for game day. Thanks for reading the post!

      February 5, 2013 at 11:28 am

  7. Dude, you’re my hero. I pulled out a bunch of leftover cajun pulled pork from the slow cooker two nights before and made a quick veg. pizza for the vegetarian in the group. Bam. This sounds amazing!

    February 5, 2013 at 1:52 pm

    • Haha… thanks! Cajun pulled pork, that sounds good!! Give the recipies a try and let me know what you think!

      February 5, 2013 at 2:53 pm

  8. Did similar with pork for the game. A-maz…thanks for sharing. It’s chicken next time.

    February 5, 2013 at 9:44 pm

  9. yourothermotherhere

    I’m glad you hit my blog today so I could backtrack to yours and read about all this delicious sounding food! I can’t wait until the next batch of brownies to try the sweet\salt combo! Ah, if only I was your neighbor…

    February 6, 2013 at 8:23 am

    • It’s a pretty amazing combo. Yes, the neighbors tend to peek their heads out the window when they see us firing up our smokers. They then quickly retreat and look at us like we are nuts because it’s 10 degrees below zero. Ahhh… the joy of winter grilling!

      February 6, 2013 at 9:00 am

  10. These look fantastic! Head over to thejollyrogerrr to see my (more amateur) Super Bowl snacks!

    February 6, 2013 at 2:53 pm

    • Thank you!

      I’ll definitely wander over and check out a few recipes.

      February 6, 2013 at 3:47 pm

  11. PotP, Marinated, smoked and pulled chicken all the last minute. What a great success story. We served Porchetta (basically, skin on pork belly rolled around more pork) as the main item for our game day feast. We only wish our 49ers pulled off a win (sigh).

    February 15, 2013 at 4:47 pm

    • Oh yes, I know porketta very well. It’s a delicacy where my wife is from. I told gramma I smoked one once and and look at me like I spoke blasphemy against the heritage. Ahhh I need to make one now.

      February 15, 2013 at 5:49 pm

Leave a Reply

